Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Winch-Retriever????

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2003, 11:09 AM
jerry dotson

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Winch-Retriever????

I have built a winch and a retriever setup. It is working but I have lots of pop-offs. What is the correct distance from the pull ring to the retriever attach point? Also the line twists when it is retrieved. I have a swivel on the retriever line. Do I need more? I am flying a Sig Riser "100".
I have been flying with a Hi-Start for 3 or 4 years. Love the winch if I can get the bugs out. My problem is it is 50 miles to anyone that seriously flies gliders so I don't get much advice. I am full of questions... when I quit to put the winch up I can never wind up the line without backlashing the winch drum.[&o] BTW I used Delco starters not those antique Ford starters. They are a lot harder to convert to ball bearings than Ford long shaft.
Old 12-30-2003, 05:03 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Winch-Retriever????

Here are a couple of thougts.

You say you are having pop-off issues. I presume you did not have this on the hi-starts. What are the specs for the hi-start you have been using?

Where are you popping off? First 30 feet? Half way up?

Lots of things cause pop-offs. Check the tow hook first to make sure it is tight and that it has not been bent open, even a little bit.

Pop-offs may be due to a faster launch off the winch. Are you flooring the pedal, or are you tapping it? Most of the flights at our field off the winch are done with a tapping motion on the pedal/button, even for the three meter contest ships. Only a few of the planes are strong enough to take a full pedal launch and you want to reel in a little line as possible.