Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

art hobby's thermic 2.5m flies!!!

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

art hobby's thermic 2.5m flies!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2004, 03:58 AM
4shizzle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default art hobby's thermic 2.5m flies!!!

Hey... if you read my last thread "PLEASE help me find a thermal ship" I was asking people for their opinion on finding the right glider for me. Well.. after an unsucessful attempt of dealing with NES I decided to go with Art Hobby's thermic v-tail. I have had a couple of cheesy gliders before and thought the art of thermaling was out of my skill level even though im a pretty good glow pilot. Well it took about a week to put it together and some of these guys had some good tips for me like cutting the boom to get the weight and balance closer. Anyways.... I got this thing in the air today. At first it wasnt doing anything maybe one or two minute flights. The ground was wet and we were expecting rain in NY. Later on the sun started to come out and I put this thing in the air and I just could not get it down! This thing shows lift great and I just stayed in it and by the time the flight was over I had put in my first 20 min. flight! Thinking it was luck I went back up and I was in for another 25 min. flight that I just had to bring down cause im using a GWS rec. and I was getting scared that I was running out of range. Well... if you guys have any recomendations for a good souce on thermaling info. or which rec. I should be using let my know. Just be careful the tail feathers are pretty fragile but otherwise this thing is somethin else. Sorry about the long post but geez my *** is excited. Thanks for the help guys!
Old 08-15-2004, 12:14 PM
Rick K
My Feedback: (6)