Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

simple question??

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 10:03 AM
4shizzle

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default simple question??

I am pretty new to gliders and soaring. Just wondering if rudder and ailerons should be mixed together and if someone could explain the differance between the best thermaling speed and best sink ratio speed??? thanks
Old 09-20-2004, 04:25 PM
SoCal GliderGuider

Default RE: simple question??

Ailerons travel three times as much up as down. Differential. Terribly noticeable on a long wing. I mix in half rudder throw for full aileron throw and put it on a switch. I also mix in flaperons and put that on a switch. Which plane are you thinking of?
Old 09-21-2004, 01:23 AM
BMatthews

Received 22 Likes on 19 Posts

The best thermalling speed is the minimum sink rate speed. For most classic RC gliders this is usually the slowest speed just shy of the stall speed. For more modern airfoils it can be a few mph above the stall speed.

Your use of the second term is pretty much the same as above. Or did you mean the other often used Best L/D speed? This is the speed that the model covers the most ground for foot of altitude lost. This is usually about 1 1/2 to 2 times the minimum sink speed. But nothing is fixed here. Different airfoils provide you with different ranges of speed between these two very important speeds.

Basically if you're not at the minimum sink speed and circling in lift, or where you THINK there's lift, then you should be at the other Best L/D speed cruising the sky looking for air to let you switch back to that first speed.
Old 09-21-2004, 06:19 AM
4shizzle