Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

Thermal tips for beginner please

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Thermal tips for beginner please

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2001, 02:23 AM
Skycam41

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thermal tips for beginner please

Hello sailplane pilots,

I have been flying those slimey powered jobbies for 6 years now and am really excited to try thermal flying. I have almost completed a Skybench Big Bird 100" RES sailplane. You see where I live there are no fellow sailplane flyers and so this is a teach yourself job. I plan to launch from a high start. Are there chaps out there that can give me advice on thermal flying, how to recognise how a thermal effects a sailplane (other than going up like an elevator!), how to seek out thermals etc. Any help appreciated. also, could you lead me in the right dirrection of which Hi-Start is a good one to purchase. I look forward to the peaceful tranquility of flying sailplanes with the added bonus of not needing to take along the glass cleaner and paper towel

Cheers

Mike
Old 12-08-2001, 04:12 AM
Walt-RCU

Mike
Try this link.
http://www.HorizonHobby.com/air/archives.asp

There is a two part artical about thermals

In Arizona they are eazy to find.

Walt
Old 12-09-2001, 07:57 AM
R. Carver

Try posting a message on RCSoaring.com to see if anyone near you flies sailplanes. I thought no one down here did when I started, floundered around on my own before I ran across a fellow online that flew locally. Turns out one of the best soaring clubs in the country is 10 minutes from my house, nicely tucked away