Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring
Reload this Page >

How many channels shall I need?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

How many channels shall I need?

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2010, 09:13 AM
hon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How many channels shall I need?

I am a beginner in RC looking at buying my first RC transmitter for sailplanes. I want to buy the set that I can use for future models should I progress. Will 9-channel transmitters enough for models in F3F and scale models? Shall I need more than 9 channels?

Thank you.

Old 07-01-2010, 09:22 AM
rafeeki
My Feedback: (11)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: How many channels shall I need?

6 Channels is plenty good.
By the time u need more than 6 your transmitter could be outdated. Next step would be 8. I would reserve that for scale models with several features.

One step at a time.
Old 07-01-2010, 01:35 PM
jooNorway

I fly a lot of large scale sailplanes and F3F. Those are the models which really need a lot of channels. 9 ch TX would do the job, but you need good mixing abilities and the ability to use flightphases.
Standard airplanes don`t need half as much computerpower etc as big sailplanes
For example I have 11 servoes in a DG600 in addition to vario-control. Use modes for tow, normal flight, thermalling, acro and landing just to mention... Use 8 channels on TX.
If I do add waterballast I suddenly need the 9`th channel.
For F3F less channels are required, but you would propably want to have at least 3 modes available and be able to mix thermal, speed, kickflap and crowmix at least.

Since you are a beginner it might be a huge step to buy an expensive state of the art radio, but if you plan to go for big scalies I know a cheap radio won`t do the job over time.
Old 07-01-2010, 02:08 PM
BarracudaHockey