Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Beginner choices

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2011, 03:27 PM
astrowolf67

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner choices

Hello all, I'm new to heli flying, and have been wanting to try for a while. Today, on an impulse buy, I picked one up at Wal Mart, the Bladerunner Interceptor, just to try. Within minutes of charging, I had it hovering, turning, and, flying backwards. A half day later, after packing some modeling clay in the nose a bit at a time, it will fly forward, although very slowly. I have read where coax is better for beginners, but, have become bored with this one very quickly, not to mention, it only gets about 6-8 minutes of run time, after 45 minutes of charging (non removeable lipo). I'm seriously considering returning it already, and, just spending a bit more for a Blade mCX RTF. Would this be a good move? Or, should I just go ahead and jump to the mSR, or SR120?

Thanks,
David
Old 09-03-2011, 03:46 PM
olefart

Default RE: Beginner choices

Try a Nine Eagles Solo Pro. It is a 4 ch. fixed pitch that is very easy to fly compared to most fp helis.
Old 09-03-2011, 04:35 PM
astrowolf67

Where would be a recommended vendor that sells the Solo Pro, and parts? I was looking at the Blades, because that's the only thing my LHS has.

David
Old 09-03-2011, 09:56 PM
Aframomum
My Feedback: (10)

Hi David,

Welcome to RCU and your heli addiction.

First off...most electric heli's will only get 4-6 minutes flight time and charging will take (depending on what charger is used) up to 40 minutes on these 1S batteries, with the norm being around 20 minutes. However on most heli's the battery can be removed and so you'll get more then 1 to fly with so fly while the others are being charged.