Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

The usual Newbie Question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

The usual Newbie Question

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2004, 09:14 PM
bacfac

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The usual Newbie Question

I am a real newbie - have never flown any rc planes or helos. I want to stat with an indoor helo and have done a lot of preliminary reading and have almost decided on buying a Piccolo Fun Kit ($240-$299). The typical start-up kit from Ikarus includes the following:

Radio System: 4 Channel FM Transmitter (It's typically a GWS)
Servos: Two - IK171201 Ikarus Micro Servos
Crystal Set: IK17720 Ikarus Receiver Crystal and IK17729 Ikarus Transmitter Crystal
Piccoboard: IK72572 Ikarus Piccoboard PLUS with Receiver (Includes 6 channel receiver, 2 digital motor controllers, automatic tail-mixing functions, servoless gyro system, upgradeable to Heading Hold.)
Battery Pack:IK67492 Ikarus 8 Cell 600 mAh NiMH Battery
Charger: Ikarus Plug-In 110V/180 mAh Wall Charger
Flight Simulator: IK31009 Ikarus EasySIM Flight Simulator

I know the radio is a $30.00 radio, but if you break-up the kit, the price almost doubles.

Will this set-up get me going? Everything, including the Fun Piccolo is upgradable and the radio could be replaced by a better radio as I go along.

Or

Would you guys recommend a different Piccolo Kit at a reasonable increased price?

Thanks and sorry for being the nth newbie to ask the same type of question!
Old 02-27-2004, 09:22 PM
crashparry

Default RE: The usual Newbie Question

Hi - I hope Bacfac doesn't mind but I would like to add to his post (save forum space).