Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

computer radio or not?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

computer radio or not?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2005, 11:04 PM
frager14

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default computer radio or not?

I'm just starting out in rc helicopters. I have a Kyosho Concept 30 kit coming in the mail with an O.S. 32. My question is what exactly is the advantage of a computer radio and is it really necessary for a beginning pilot? Does it have to be a heli computer radio or can it be any computer radio. If it is a requirement then could you please give me a list of radios that will work near the bottom of the price range.
Old 01-05-2005, 11:50 PM
wisdom-seeker

Default RE: computer radio or not?

It seems to be the general consensus that you should buy the best radio you can get. If you're short on money, then it is unlikely that you will replace this radio for a long time, and you will quickly outgrow any bargain-basement radio.
Old 01-06-2005, 12:34 AM
pwterry

Yes, you need a computer radio.
Yes, you need a helicopter capable radio.
Just one of several reasons: On a heli, the throttle stick controls both the throttle and the main rotor blade's pitch. The computer allows you to program both (throttle & pitch curves) for the best performance.

The Futaba 7C will do nicely:
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXGAF0**&P=ML[/link]

The Futaba 9C will do even better:
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXASY0**&P=7[/link]

The Futaba 9Z will do it all, and then some:
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXUY18&P=7[/link]

Of course, the more you pay, the more and better features you get. But, unless you plan on "turning pro", the 7C will suffice and shouldn't leave you wanting more.