Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

New to choppers need advice

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

New to choppers need advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2005, 08:48 AM
MonsterDad

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to choppers need advice

I am a real beginner to this hobby. What helicopter would be the best to learn with? Also would you go electric or gas? I am looking to get into it without spending a lot of money to begin with. Then if I can get the hang of flying these I can upgrade.

Thanks.
Old 04-08-2005, 09:12 AM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: New to choppers need advice

Get a sim. You can't get into the hobby without spending money. If you try to do it cheap, you will get junk, get frusterated and quit, and have thrown away everything you spent. If you like flying on the sim, then you can get a heli. If you don't, you are not out a lot of money and sims can be sold.

If you don't have a lot of money to waste, don't buy junk helis. Fly the sim first. It will pay for itself many times over
Old 04-08-2005, 09:37 AM
MajorTomski

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Monsterdad, sorry but to do things right, as a minimum you're looking at a $600.00 LMH corona plus battery packs and charger. You could buy a lot of cheap stuff, but by the time you get it flying reliably you've spent the same, if not more, than if you just did it right the first time.

Why the corona? Available, US made, incredibly durable, and incredibly cheap to fix, lots of aftermarket hop ups,

If you can fly a LMH you can fly anything.

http://www.litemachines.com/

Go to products, look up Model 120 corona for details

HTH Tom
Old 04-08-2005, 09:47 AM
MonsterDad