Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Dragonfly RC RTF 4CH V2 Helicopter info

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Dragonfly RC RTF 4CH V2 Helicopter info

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2005, 09:51 AM
kenga

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dragonfly RC RTF 4CH V2 Helicopter info

Hi, I would like to purchase the above mentioned electric helicopter. I was not able to find ANY information or reviews about it. Could anyone say if it is really worth buying or not. I am a beginner and cannot afford buying a helicopter more expensive than $80-100
So can you please tell me any information about the helicopter or maybe you could just point me to a site with cheap beginnner electric helicopters for newbies.
Thanks in advance,

Nicolas
Old 08-25-2005, 12:18 PM
menardsy

Default RE: Dragonfly RC RTF 4CH V2 Helicopter info

Hi Nicolas,

I have bough a Walkera Dragonfly #4 last week. Also spent some time (around 6 hours) on the flight simulator. I am still not able to fly on the sim without crashing sometime. After that, I tried to fly the real helicopter and it was much harder that the simulator. I crashed the Dragonfly about 50 times from 1 to 2 foots height and even though the main blade did hit walls and grass, it still fly.

The first thing you will need to do is hovering: I am still not able to do it for more than 5 seconds. The helicopter is not very stable but it adds to the challenge.

Also, do your first flight in a large room (15 foots by 20 foots). I tried outdoor with a wind around 5 mph and was not able to control the heli. [&o] Also, when flying outdoor over grass, it is very easy to lose piece when crashing. My next heli will be an electric heli that is large enough to withstand some wind.