Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

needs help w/ t-rex 450......

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

needs help w/ t-rex 450......

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 12:15 AM
pilot24usa

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default needs help w/ t-rex 450......

Hi guys.....i'm getting a new t-rex 450, but i'm a newbie and don't know much about rc heli. would like to know what should i buy to build a nice t-rex for a new pilot? what set up? eletronics? i need to know everything needed to get ready to fly, from blade to r/c!? thank you guys....
Old 02-14-2006, 06:18 AM
VinceHerman

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: needs help w/ t-rex 450......

Hi,
Are you buying a new transmitter, or do you already have a good, capable heli transmitter?
If you are buying new, I have had good success with my Futaba 9CH. It is available in a transmitter-only package for about $320 from these reputable vendors:
http://www.brucknerhobbies.com/
http://www.servocity.com/

There are some outstanding Rexie packages available from these vendors:
http://www.modefosheli.com/
http://www.grandrc.com/
http://www.allerc.com/

For budget minded without sacrificing quality, Ilike something like this:
HDE kit
4x HS56 servos
Futaba 240 (or better, 401) gyro
2000+ Mah 3s LiPo pack(s) with 15C rating
Pretty much any motor advertised by these vendors on the combo packages.
This will probably be in the $600 range.

Do you already have a battery charger capable of charging 3s LiPos? If not, consider the Apache 2500 for something like $43. It runs on 12 volts, but you can use an old computer power supply, or go to radio shack and get a 12v converter.

Vince
Old 02-14-2006, 06:21 AM
VinceHerman

Received 1 Like on 1 Post