Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Cheap micros worth it?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Cheap micros worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2006, 03:07 PM
Motoduck

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cheap micros worth it?

While I'm a firm believer in you-get-what-you-pay-for, I have to ask anyways....

With Xmas coming up, I'm looking at inexpensive rc helis for my kids and myself. On Ebay, and assorted online hobby outlets, is see plenty of simple and cheap 2 or 3 channel micros available for less than $50. Usually twin rotor "easy to fly" types that recharge off the transmitter or landing pad. My question is, are they even worth fussing with?

I've had some experience (last Christmas) with one of these from Radio Shack (Yeah, I know better than to buy anything from Radio Shack, but it was the only one I could find at the time). I think it was called a Swingblade or something like that. It was rather disappointing. While it almost worked, not all of the spare parts I needed (from crash damage) were available. Mainly the main rotor hub.

Do all of the cheap micros/minis tend to be the same?

Thanks for any insight you folks can give me.

Old 12-06-2006, 03:12 PM
turbotb0205
My Feedback: (31)

Default RE: Cheap micros worth it?

as i sat reading your post.. i looked up and the link i wanted was staring at me http://www.nitroplanes.com/drkimimi3rar.html <those are absolutely great.. i dinked and dropped mine more than one time and it flies to this day crash kits are cheap tho .. i actually never needed one they arent the most reponsive things for forward and reverse movement BUT they are designed to teach not impress your friends IMO if you want to go elcheapo .. thats your winner