Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Good small heli to put a Heading Lock gyro in?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Good small heli to put a Heading Lock gyro in?

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2008, 05:02 PM
Little-Acorn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good small heli to put a Heading Lock gyro in?

I'm a beginner who has flown a Walkera 4, but I understand it's pretty tough to put a heading-lock gyro into one of those. It's too small, the integrated electronics make it tough, etc.

I suppose any heli I get that can reasonably support a heading-hold gyro, will be somewhat bigger. I'd like it to be an electric heli.

Can anyone recommend a good beginner electric heli that can reasonably take a heading-hold gyro? Collective or non-collective, either one is OK. I've flow LOTS of fixed wing RC aircraft, glders, etc., but am a heli neophyte.

For that matter, if I strip ALL the elctronics out of a Walkera 4 (I have two, both with dead ESCs) and start from scratch, can I still get a HH gyro into it? I can either use the original servos, or put in better ones.

Any recommendations?

Thanx all!
Old 02-03-2008, 05:30 PM
Little-Acorn

Default RE: Good small heli to put a Heading Lock gyro in?

BTW, how does a heading lock gyro work, anyway?

I don't mean internally, I hear they are piezo somehow. I'm more interested in what they control. Obviously they control the tail rotor somehow, to compensate for changes in which direction the nose points. I gather they control tail rotor thrust to pivot the nose back to the original heading. Correct?