Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Beginner choices?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2008, 03:37 AM
NightRogue

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner choices?

Hello all! I am looking to get into this hobby again and I am looking for some advice. I have no experience with r/c helicopters other than a couple of small indoor jobbers.

I want to spend good money on a helicopter that I will not have to upgrade once I become skilled, so I was looking at the Exceed G2 super edition.. I know it's an advanced model but I plan on using the virtual trainer as well as being very careful until I get the hang of it. I don't really WANT to purchase an easier model, but if that's the best idea, then what should I get?

What can a 6 channel do that a 4 channel can't? Am I nailing my own coffin if I buy this model before getting started on a less advanced model?

Thanks for your help!
Old 07-21-2008, 06:53 AM
thurman52

Default RE: Beginner choices?

Stay away from the Exceed G2, that is a Walkera heli. If you want a very stable FP heli, that's a dream to fly. Spend a little more, and get a Hirobo Quark. I have one, and it is so sweet! The foam blades are a huge plus for indoor flying.
Old 07-21-2008, 08:16 AM
Skarn

I would not recommend ANY micro heli as a first heli to learn on. They are VERY hard to learn on as they are small and ustable/twitchy. I would get a least a mini heli in the 450 class like a TREX 450. If you do that, you can use the Finless Bob video's to show you how to build, setup and fly it.

Good luck!
Skarn
Old 07-22-2008, 12:59 AM
NightRogue

holy crap that trex is expensive! is that your best choice for beginners that don't want a chopped down experience?
Old 07-22-2008, 07:58 AM
chris6414
My Feedback: (10)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post