Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

250 trex drifting

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2011, 12:13 PM
ek4man
My Feedback: (24)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 250 trex drifting

Hello. My trex 250 drifts slowly to the left I try to correct it from drifting left then it drifts to the right. I have an hitec hg 5000 gyro. I have the gain set at 75+ 75- on my dx7 radio. I am new to flying heli's, can fly around without crashing most of the time. I would like for someone to explain to me what rate and heading hold is ,and what is the function of both. Thanks Charlie.
Old 07-20-2011, 10:50 PM
Solman

Default RE: 250 trex drifting

Are you referring to the tail drifting?
Old 07-21-2011, 09:36 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 352 Likes on 282 Posts

To answer your one question.

Rate mode is a gyro mode that dampens the rate (amount) of unwanted tail movement.

Heading hold mode is smarter, it not only stops a drift but applies a correction to get it back where it was.

If a helicopter is hovering with its side to the wind a rate mode gyro will sense the drift, correct to make it stop, and then recenter and it will drift again then the gyro will stop it over and over until the nose is into the wind. It will still turn into the wind but at a rate that is manageable by the pilot. (trust me it would be LOTS worse without one!)

A heading hold gyro will sense the drift and instantly correct it, if the wind gets stronger the gyro will apply more correction (as much as it needs right up to the mechanical limit of the tail pitch mechanisim if need be) until it stays put. Even in a changing sideways wind, a heading hold gyro should maintain the nose pointing in the same direction.