Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

DELETE

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2002, 07:04 AM
warlock1174
My Feedback: (23)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DELETE

DELETE this thread please. Will repost with new information...
Old 11-09-2002, 12:35 PM
twguns

Default DELETE

You leave out some very important aspects of the material that would be quite important...

What thickness is this "mystery material" available in and what are the weights of said material, by thickness per sq. foot or inch???

BTW, since I build Champ cars for a living (indy cars) and am quite familliar with CF, I would say that all of the numbers you quoted are easily eclipsed by CF and properly laid up CF of only a 2mm thickness will withstand your "hand breaking" exercise with 1/4" (stated by you) thickness of the "mystery material"...

Also you don't state the price for available thicknesses, and how much you can supply... If this is a revolutionary new material , I can't imagine that it will be available in "as much as I need" quantitys for a reasonable price...

I mean that if I needed say 10 2' x 4' sheets of .063" to CNC cut some prototype heli parts, can you supply??? and how soon???

Just some questions...
Old 11-09-2002, 12:53 PM
Culverson
My Feedback: (14)

Default DELETE

I would be interested in finding out more about the material. Weight will be a factor-rigidness pertaining to hairline fracture issues is a concern. I am starting to make my own Carbon Fiber parts for my tail fins on my own helis. I had rather make my own than pay the higher cost on parts. Even though some of these parts are cut by manuf. with a very expensive & clean process utilizing water cutting is very percise. I have the tooling to accurately cut my own even though it takes time to get these within proper specs.