Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

coaxial or standard?

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2007, 01:07 AM
3D 4 ME

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default coaxial or standard?

I've been flying helis for about 5 years and my best friend wants to get into this wonderful hobby. Should a noob start with a regular or a tandem?
Old 08-14-2007, 01:20 AM
mrasmm

Default RE: coaxial or standard?

if you have a sim put him on that and see how he does, or take him down to the hobby shop. Most of them have demo sims. If he is a quick learner and gets bored quick, then the single rotor. If he is a average or slower leaner and wouldn't get bored with something simple get a coax heli. If he's somewhere in the middle, then go with an fp heli. It would also depend alot on his budget as well.
Old 08-14-2007, 01:53 AM
3D 4 ME

I have g3.5 and he just learns how to tip over. His problem is that he doesn't want to learn he just wants to fly without thinking about it. Is he mature enough for this hobby?
Old 08-14-2007, 07:24 AM
mrcandyman

no, he really isn't....it takes a lot of patience and learning which he obviously lacks
Old 08-14-2007, 03:24 PM
HeliTB

I second that, this hobby takes lots of patience and lots of cash.
Old 08-14-2007, 07:33 PM
TheBum

ORIGINAL: HeliTB

...and lots of humility because you have to accept the fact the you *will* crash. The secret is to minimize the damage, which is where the patience and practice comes in handy.
Old 08-15-2007, 01:15 AM
calvino

ORIGINAL: TheBum

ORIGINAL: HeliTB

...and lots of humility because you have to accept the fact the you *will* crash. The secret is to minimize the damage, which is where the patience and practice comes in handy.