Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Heaven Support
Reload this Page >

GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Notices
RC Helicopter Heaven Support Click here for help with all your RC Helicopter Heaven questions.

GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Old 02-22-2010, 04:52 PM
  #1  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GY520 gyro on Blade 400

I just installed the Futaba GY520 gyro on a Blade 400. When I try to hover, I get a really bad tail wag.
Old 02-25-2010, 08:00 PM
  #2  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

I guess Heaven is broke, better look else where.
Old 01-23-2012, 06:45 PM
  #3  
Guardbum115
My Feedback: (12)
 
Guardbum115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Haysville, KS
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Did you ever find the problem, I've got the same issue at the moment.
Old 01-23-2012, 09:14 PM
  #4  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

I would hope so, that was almost a year ago. What radio are you using?
Old 01-24-2012, 04:33 AM
  #5  
Guardbum115
My Feedback: (12)
 
Guardbum115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Haysville, KS
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Jr 9303
Old 01-24-2012, 08:10 AM
  #6  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Awesome, that is the radio I am running as well. Ok, are you using the gyro menu?
Old 01-24-2012, 11:29 AM
  #7  
Guardbum115
My Feedback: (12)
 
Guardbum115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Haysville, KS
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Yes, when I adjust the values I can't see that it makes a bit of difference with the tail wag. I've tried adjusting the dials on the gyro as well. Last owner tells me it works but at this point I'm starting to wonder. Is there an extra step in the 9303 that I'm missing??
Old 01-24-2012, 11:33 AM
  #8  
Guardbum115
My Feedback: (12)
 
Guardbum115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Haysville, KS
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

That or let me know your settings please
Old 01-24-2012, 07:05 PM
  #9  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Wait a minute, you said adjust dials on the gyro? Do you have a 520 or 401?
Old 01-24-2012, 07:52 PM
  #10  
Guardbum115
My Feedback: (12)
 
Guardbum115's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Haysville, KS
Posts: 38
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

I have a hobby king hk401b, sorry
Old 01-24-2012, 09:35 PM
  #11  
Solman
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,034
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GY520 gyro on Blade 400

Ok, that changes a few things. If you have the yellow wire going into the gear channel, then it will change going thru the radio and not the dial. Inhibit the gyro menu because that is most likely causing your problems. You will use the gear travel adjust to adjust your HHand rate mode. You want to be able to hover it in rate mode without using your rudder stick. Mechanically adjust your tail rod to make corrections, do not use subtrim or trim. Make sure your trim is centered as well. You can use subtrim to center the servo, but that is it. Start off with about 55% on both HH and rate mode as a starting point.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.