Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Skygate/CARF Viperjet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Skygate/CARF Viperjet

Old 04-06-2014, 05:23 AM
  #351  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Peter, that is a lot of smoke. Bet it will really look good in the air. And you are totally correct about he cockpit -- way cheap. I just went the complete sport jet route and smoked the inside of the canopy.

How complicated is the install of your lights to the wing and what type electronics are required.
Old 04-08-2014, 03:36 AM
  #352  
Peter A
My Feedback: (34)
 
Peter A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Posts: 812
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For the lights I made my own but you can buy a ready made kit from Emcotec (link below):

http://shop.rc-electronic.com/LIGHTI...catalog&p=2079

For mine I bought the Lexon lights from Emcotec, got a 10A Turnigy Receiver Controlled Switch from Hobby King for $6, and I used 2 x 5ohm, 20w resistors from my local electronic supplier.
Each wing gets a resistor, also I used a balsa /ply mount and used an Aluminium plate under the resistor with heat compound.
I am drawing 650mA per wing which is nothing really, using a 2 cell LiPo 3000mAh which lets me fly with lights on all day.

As far as the lights. I cut the skin of the wing and silicone them in place. Silicone absorbs any shock or vibration and it is super easy to remove the lights and replace them and re-silicone in place for any repairs. So far I have used this setup on different models with no issues.

If you want a nav lights etc, this method does not work of course, you need some form of light sequencer but for On/Off landing lights, this is perfect and cheap with very low maintenance and lasts forever.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0644.JPG
Views:	300
Size:	901.6 KB
ID:	1985234   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5112.JPG
Views:	294
Size:	423.1 KB
ID:	1985235   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2321.JPG
Views:	226
Size:	299.3 KB
ID:	1985236   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.JPG
Views:	181
Size:	75.9 KB
ID:	1985237   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo5.JPG
Views:	189
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	1985238   Click image for larger version

Name:	46040s.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	1985241  

Last edited by Peter A; 04-08-2014 at 03:42 AM.
Old 04-11-2014, 02:00 PM
  #353  
Peter A
My Feedback: (34)
 
Peter A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Posts: 812
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Finally a break in the weather. Could not resist. Test flew the Viper today (charged everything but forgot to charge the camera)
Ah well, anyway it flew like it was on rails. I needed 0 trims.
An awesome plane, tracks well, rolls great and flies like it is on rails and I do not use Gyros anymore in my models.
Will take pictures and or videos soon and post.

Last edited by Peter A; 04-11-2014 at 02:03 PM.
Old 04-11-2014, 02:15 PM
  #354  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Great news Peter. I love mine. I do use a steering Gyro but it is more because of the small narrow field I fly of than anything.

Also, thanks for the reply one the lights. Yours look great.
Old 05-01-2014, 12:59 AM
  #355  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Peter.
Like the lights and would be happy to glean info on how they were made.
Regards
David
Whoops missed the post above sorry

David
Old 05-01-2014, 01:05 AM
  #356  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Granville,
What sort of flight time are you getting from your 180 RX please and stock tank.
Regards

David
Old 05-01-2014, 01:16 AM
  #357  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi Achilles,
How did you operate your gear door ? Is it manually ( ie a wire trip or pneumatic ram) ?
Thanks
David
Old 07-17-2014, 02:53 AM
  #358  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,749
Received 600 Likes on 434 Posts
Default

One of several Vipers we sold recently, this one was put together for the customer in under 10 days. JR DMSS with a P-180Rx JetCat (started and ran perfectly first time) Should test fly in at our next JMA meeting in the UK.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0018.JPG
Views:	1446
Size:	494.9 KB
ID:	2014872   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0019.JPG
Views:	1372
Size:	494.6 KB
ID:	2014873   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0017.JPG
Views:	1453
Size:	501.6 KB
ID:	2014874   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0015.JPG
Views:	1613
Size:	411.6 KB
ID:	2014875   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0005.JPG
Views:	1542
Size:	432.7 KB
ID:	2014876   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0004.JPG
Views:	1425
Size:	435.7 KB
ID:	2014877  
Old 07-21-2014, 07:49 AM
  #359  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,749
Received 600 Likes on 434 Posts
Default

People in Europe, there is a CARF deal on the Green scheme Viper!

Dw
Old 03-10-2015, 11:11 AM
  #360  
havard.j
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: , NORWAY
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi.
I have installed a Merlin M200XBL in my Viper.
It has 25N more thrust than the recommended JetCat P180.
Is there anyone else here who has mounted 200N turbine?
Do you think the exhaust pipe and the model is strong enough?
Old 03-10-2015, 11:54 AM
  #361  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 12,749
Received 600 Likes on 434 Posts
Default

No problem with the bullet proof tail pipe tube.

Dave
Old 03-10-2015, 01:19 PM
  #362  
havard.j
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: , NORWAY
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you.

Obviously I have to use common sense in G maneuvers, but full power level and vertically will be fun

Some pictures, soon ready for maiden.



Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-10-17 14.57.14.jpg
Views:	1328
Size:	2.00 MB
ID:	2080449   Click image for larger version

Name:	2014-10-17 14.57.32.jpg
Views:	1251
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	2080450   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-10 19.37.58.jpg
Views:	1394
Size:	3.10 MB
ID:	2080451   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-17 18.14.39.jpg
Views:	1440
Size:	3.31 MB
ID:	2080452   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-20 16.22.00.jpg
Views:	1480
Size:	3.58 MB
ID:	2080453   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-27 21.10.33.jpg
Views:	1456
Size:	2.58 MB
ID:	2080454   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-27 21.11.06.jpg
Views:	1459
Size:	3.29 MB
ID:	2080455   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-27 21.13.56.jpg
Views:	1445
Size:	3.28 MB
ID:	2080456  

Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-27 21.14.18.jpg
Views:	1414
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	2080457   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-01-27 21.15.43.jpg
Views:	1553
Size:	3.11 MB
ID:	2080459   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-03-03 21.46.53.jpg
Views:	1556
Size:	3.87 MB
ID:	2080460   Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-03-10 13.28.27.jpg
Views:	1432
Size:	3.60 MB
ID:	2080461  
Old 03-11-2015, 02:05 AM
  #363  
skywarrior
 
skywarrior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: TWICKENHAM, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 401
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Wow thats a rocket ship then as mine goes straight up on a 180 Rx no problem !
Old 04-23-2015, 03:02 PM
  #364  
quist
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,325
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

anyone in the US have an interior kit that they want to get rid of? I need the front dash cover.
Old 05-18-2015, 04:16 PM
  #365  
airspeed917
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 126
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Black Eagle Viper

Just got my CARF Black Eagle Viper, First Viper made in this Scheme. The paint job is flawless and the quality of this jet is incredible,
.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Viper.jpg
Views:	1408
Size:	3.58 MB
ID:	2097021   Click image for larger version

Name:	Viper2.jpg
Views:	1427
Size:	3.09 MB
ID:	2097022  
Old 06-09-2015, 04:39 AM
  #366  
paulhat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Hi All.
Can anyone tell me how the viper flies with a 140 sized turbine.
I would build it light with no cockpit and minimal electronics.
At the moment I am flying off well compacted dirt with plenty of room for take off run.

Regards,

Paul.
Old 06-09-2015, 06:32 AM
  #367  
quist
My Feedback: (198)
 
quist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 3,325
Received 9 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

I am flying with a 160SX (36lb) It is not overpowered but it has enough to do anything aerobatic that I want. It has very good vertical for a slow jet. The jet isn't fast, top speed I have recorded in level flight is 180 MPH. I only use full power on vertical maneuvers. I would think that the140 will be ok but not great. It all comes down to your flying style.
Old 06-09-2015, 03:47 PM
  #368  
paulhat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Thanks for the information Quist.
I guess if it has good vertical with a 160 then it should fly pretty good on a 140.
I have a 140 engine that needs a home.

Paul.


Originally Posted by quist View Post
I am flying with a 160SX (36lb) It is not overpowered but it has enough to do anything aerobatic that I want. It has very good vertical for a slow jet. The jet isn't fast, top speed I have recorded in level flight is 180 MPH. I only use full power on vertical maneuvers. I would think that the140 will be ok but not great. It all comes down to your flying style.
Old 06-09-2015, 05:36 PM
  #369  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Paul,
I have been flying mine for a couple of years on a 36 lb Rhino. My Viper weighs 36 lbs dry and the performance is good with it. Can't imagine needing more power. But Having said that, I also think you will be taxing a 140 size turbine pretty hard, especially on some of those days when your 30-32 lb thrust turbine is really putting out more like 27-28 lbs. Will it fly it -- you bet, but you won't have much reserve and you will be in the upper end of the power curve most of the flight. Just my opinion.
Old 06-09-2015, 06:29 PM
  #370  
paulhat
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , AUSTRALIA
Posts: 397
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Thanks Sailing1.
Sounds like this aircraft is better flown with a larger engine than that 140.
Thanks for your feedback.

Paul.
Old 06-10-2015, 12:42 AM
  #371  
lxfly
 
lxfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: LUXEMBOURG
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi,
I'm flying the Tomahawk Viper with a Jetcat P140, 34.7lbs dry, normal cutted grass field is no problem, have flown it to at 25-30 C with no power problem. Here is a short Video.
In comparison with a friend's Carf powered by Jetcat P180, we couldn't see much difference in flying, except verticals.
Maybe worth trying it.
Old 06-10-2015, 07:59 AM
  #372  
Achillesfilho
 
Achillesfilho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sao Jose do Rio Preto- SP, BRAZIL
Posts: 246
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have a P180 in my Carf Viper and it's overpower since the airframe isn't designed for speed, so i decide to switch for the p140.
Old 06-10-2015, 02:20 PM
  #373  
RC_MAN
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: LaSalle, ON, CANADA
Posts: 739
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Does anyone have a slick way of fastening the main wings to the fuselage. I find trying to tighten the bold through the retract hole is very hard.

Thanks
Old 06-11-2015, 02:00 AM
  #374  
Roger M
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Harpenden, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have a look at post 284, where a 6mm bolt is fixed into the wing root and then a wing nut is simply attached inside the fuselage. I've used this system on my Viperjet and it really is simple and quick.

Roger
Old 06-12-2015, 01:37 PM
  #375  
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: tulsa, OK
Posts: 972
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Mine are set up just the way Zeeb did his in post 284. Thanks so much for the tip. Works perfect . I just used 1/4 inch studs and couple of nylon wing nuts because they were easy to get and plenty strong.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.