Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Old wren help

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Old wren help

Old 12-03-2017, 08:16 AM
  #26  
Larrythelathe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good idea

Do some plugs has more wire than others? What are people using?
Old 12-03-2017, 08:18 AM
  #27  
Larrythelathe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

In fact now in think about it the earth strap is clamped under the glow plug it could put that some place else I think?
Old 12-03-2017, 09:10 AM
  #28  
jefff
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: warren, OH
Posts: 119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have always used a McCoy #9 with the filament teased out to enter into the combustion chamber deeper.
Old 12-03-2017, 12:47 PM
  #29  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

You had a look for that pipe yet? My old gas start Wrens were really inconsistent starting till I spoke to Mike at Wren. Seems the pipe was there to protect glow element but ended up shielding it from the gas. Only later versions it was moved away, but Mike instructed me to gently use a screw driver to ease it away from glow plug opening, After doing that, they both started first time on the gas. I used OS 4 stroke plugs with element teased out.

Simon
Old 12-03-2017, 02:35 PM
  #30  
Larrythelathe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Sorry pipe? Sounds just like mine
Old 12-03-2017, 02:37 PM
  #31  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Looking into turbine through glow plug hole, can you see a small diameter pipe running across the hole? If so you need to gentle tease it out of the way.

I was nervous sticking anything in my turbine, but Mikes advice was spot on.

Simon
Old 12-04-2017, 12:32 PM
  #32  
Larrythelathe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wren

I've talked to wren and they can change it to kero for me for not a lot of money. I am very tempted.

I've had a 54 before and never had this stress. At least they will run it and set it up when they do the kero modification's.
Old 12-04-2017, 12:56 PM
  #33  
Si_B
 
Si_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: , , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 305
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Funny, when I spoke to Mike he offered the same thing, but said it was a waste of money as it should start perfectly on gas. If you've tried everything then there must be something wrong which needs an expert eye to sort out.

No harm in changing to kero start, but if you have other gas start turbines I'd just get it sorted.

Simon
Old 12-04-2017, 03:37 PM
  #34  
speed is life
 
speed is life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redstone, CO, USA
Posts: 390
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Larrythelathe View Post
I've talked to wren and they can change it to kero for me for not a lot of money. I am very tempted.

I've had a 54 before and never had this stress. At least they will run it and set it up when they do the kero modification's.
Larry E.?
”...change it to kero........for not a lot of money...”
well, maybe: depends on where you live UK, EU, USA and what ECU that you have.
”....Xicoy/Fadec ECU V10 AU107/108K...” required otherwise you are going to have to get a new ECU as well.

For a kero start upgrade = £146
New ECU & HDT if needed = £167
Total £313 or $421.80 USD at todays exchange rate.
add in shipping costs both directions (maybe $80USD) as well as your banks fee ($45 in my case) for international wire transfer of payment. (They DO NOT do PayPal)
real total = ~$546.80 not exactly “not a lot of money” if you are in the USA.


Anyway, the above costs are why I am leaving my Wren Supersport with propane start.....
- Mike

Last edited by speed is life; 12-04-2017 at 04:16 PM.
Old 12-04-2017, 04:24 PM
  #35  
Larrythelathe
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 31
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am in UK not sure about ecu I will look
Old 12-04-2017, 11:22 PM
  #36  
Gaspar
 
Gaspar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arenys de Munt- BARCELONA, SPAIN
Posts: 425
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

An video will help a lot in to quickly troubleshoot the issue. Usual problems with these engines is that the power to the starter is set too high, blowing the gas off and preventing the chamber to heat up in aft to allow the kero to vaporize and begin to burn. Next time, please take a video and post.

Gaspar

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.