Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
CARF REBEL 2m >

CARF REBEL 2m

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

CARF REBEL 2m

Old 04-17-2021, 04:54 AM
  #326  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 526
Received 58 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
Dave. Thanks for the response. Yeh. I have been thinking that also after looking at pictures on the threads. I have the feeling that after i get the plane I may end up biting the bullet and getting the electron gear.
I opted for the Electron gear for mine. They are hard to beat. I may get the softer springs though as they seem a bit stiff.
Old 04-17-2021, 05:43 AM
  #327  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,000
Received 163 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
Dave. Thanks for the response. Yeh. I have been thinking that also after looking at pictures on the threads. I have the feeling that after i get the plane I may end up biting the bullet and getting the electron gear.
ĎReally hard to beat Electron....and Greg at Electron USA does a great job.
Old 04-17-2021, 06:13 AM
  #328  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I agree about Greg. I have delt with him before on a number of occasions. In fact I just got a replacement motor for a larger electron gear from him last week for a Havoc SS. I have also have been talking to him about gear for this rebel.
The following users liked this post:
Dansy (04-17-2021)
Old 04-17-2021, 10:14 AM
  #329  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I have just ordered the electron gear
The following users liked this post:
Dansy (04-17-2021)
Old 04-17-2021, 04:13 PM
  #330  
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,901
Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

I have over 250 flights on the stock JP gear that come with the Rebel, and have had ZERO issues with them. Not even a hiccup.
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (12-21-2021)
Old 04-18-2021, 03:36 AM
  #331  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Could someone give me the dimensions of the Cmjets 4L tank for the Rebel. Thanks
Old 04-18-2021, 03:49 AM
  #332  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Also what are the dimensions of the Carf tank for the Rebel
Old 04-18-2021, 05:55 AM
  #333  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I have a question about tanks. Would it make sense to use the cmjets 1.5L smoke tank as a fuel tank which is just behind the main spar in combination with a 2.5L tank in front of the wing spar to get 4L fuel capacity closer to the CG so that the cg does not change as much during the flight? I donít care about smoke capability

Last edited by rjpmodel; 04-18-2021 at 06:04 AM.
Old 04-18-2021, 07:28 AM
  #334  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 526
Received 58 Likes on 49 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
I have a question about tanks. Would it make sense to use the cmjets 1.5L smoke tank as a fuel tank which is just behind the main spar in combination with a 2.5L tank in front of the wing spar to get 4L fuel capacity closer to the CG so that the cg does not change as much during the flight? I donít care about smoke capability
How long are you planning on staying in the air that you need that much fuel? What size turbine? With a swiwin 140 I can be in the air for six minutes and still have almost half a tank of fuel left.
Tone

Last edited by Agrav8ed; 04-18-2021 at 08:39 AM.
Old 04-18-2021, 08:08 AM
  #335  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,112
Received 737 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

CARF tank is 3.2ltrs with a JetCat P-130 doing turn around aerobatics we get 7.5 minutes
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (12-21-2021)
Old 04-18-2021, 08:58 AM
  #336  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

What ever tank capacity you desire I am suggesting that it is best to have the fuel as close to the Cg point as possible so that the cg changes the least during the flight as fuel is burned. If you only want 3L then use the 1.5 smoke tank behind the spar and a small short 1.5L tank in front of the spar with no change in cg during the flight. Does this not make sense?
Old 04-18-2021, 09:14 AM
  #337  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

With a long tank completely in front of the spar, the cg is changing during the flight as fuel is burned
Old 04-18-2021, 09:50 AM
  #338  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,112
Received 737 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Yes, it makes sense if you are looking for a pattern plane. Having flown three 2m Rebels you don’t notice it much with a gyro equipped airframe with big tail surfaces. The ones that struggle are the designs that start with an undersized tailplane.
The following users liked this post:
DenisFerrari (12-21-2021)
Old 04-19-2021, 10:10 AM
  #339  
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,901
Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
I have a question about tanks. Would it make sense to use the cmjets 1.5L smoke tank as a fuel tank which is just behind the main spar in combination with a 2.5L tank in front of the wing spar to get 4L fuel capacity closer to the CG so that the cg does not change as much during the flight? I donít care about smoke capability
The CMJETS 1.5L smoke tank that goes behind the spar will not work because you won't be able to reach your wing bolts with it installed
Old 04-19-2021, 02:14 PM
  #340  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I thought the wing bolt nuts were mounted in the fuse and you insert the bolts through the wheel opening?
I will look when I get mine unboxed. Just picked it up at Old Domlnion.
Old 04-19-2021, 02:17 PM
  #341  
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FLorida FL
Posts: 166
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
I thought the wing bolt nuts were mounted in the fuse and you insert the bolts through the wheel opening?
I will look when I get mine unboxed. Just picked it up at Old Domlnion.
thats how
mine is but others are not
Old 04-19-2021, 03:08 PM
  #342  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,000
Received 163 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rjpmodel
I thought the wing bolt nuts were mounted in the fuse and you insert the bolts through the wheel opening?
I will look when I get mine unboxed. Just picked it up at Old Domlnion.
They were on the Pirotti version, and the tanks are design for those...but CARF made many changes .....
Old 04-19-2021, 04:16 PM
  #343  
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: FLorida FL
Posts: 166
Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy
They were on the Pirotti version, and the tanks are design for those...but CARF made many changes .....

I have the carf version and the wing bolts install from the gear wheel well, the blind nuts are inside the fuse
Old 04-19-2021, 04:28 PM
  #344  
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 3,000
Received 163 Likes on 146 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by chevronflyer
I have the carf version and the wing bolts install from the gear wheel well, the blind nuts are inside the fuse
Humm ok interesting , the pro was change to 4 wing nuts.....
Old 04-19-2021, 06:12 PM
  #345  
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,901
Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

THe CARF version I got in MArch 2020 was bolts from the fuse into the wings
Old 04-19-2021, 07:03 PM
  #346  
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 339
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Just Unboxed Mine - beautiful. bolts go through the fuse into the wings.
The following 2 users liked this post by rjpmodel:
Dansy (04-20-2021), Desertlakesflying (04-20-2021)
Old 04-20-2021, 04:59 AM
  #347  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 768
Received 113 Likes on 91 Posts
Default

I just got an X90. I was thinking to put it in a Rebel 2m. My Rebel Hot performs great with an X45 and its thrust to weight ratio is approximately 0.7. So, if the Rebel 2M had a take-off weight around 28lbs-29lbs the T/W ratio will be equal.
Has anyone tried a smaller turbine than 100N in this model? Is a take off weight at 28lbs feasible?
I think the X90 will only need 2l of fuel for five minutes and a generous safety.
I fly at a field with a low max altitude (250ft) and I've seen folks flying 200mph and that is faster than I want to go at this point. I am generally impressed with CARF's models.
Old 04-20-2021, 12:44 PM
  #348  
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sun Valley, NV
Posts: 2,901
Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jvaliensi
I just got an X90. I was thinking to put it in a Rebel 2m. My Rebel Hot performs great with an X45 and its thrust to weight ratio is approximately 0.7. So, if the Rebel 2M had a take-off weight around 28lbs-29lbs the T/W ratio will be equal.
Has anyone tried a smaller turbine than 100N in this model? Is a take off weight at 28lbs feasible?
I think the X90 will only need 2l of fuel for five minutes and a generous safety.
I fly at a field with a low max altitude (250ft) and I've seen folks flying 200mph and that is faster than I want to go at this point. I am generally impressed with CARF's models.
100N at anything above sea level would be lethargic at best, and barely enough at sea level. Doubt that 90 would work.
Old 04-20-2021, 01:23 PM
  #349  
My Feedback: (2)
 
JSF-TC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,305
Likes: 0
Received 135 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Desertlakesflying
100N at anything above sea level would be lethargic at best, and barely enough at sea level. Doubt that 90 would work.
Really???????

I know it's a different plane, but I happily flew my Ultra Flash using a Wren SuperSport at 17lb thrust for a season or more. It felt a great combination.

No argument that it wasn't overpowered, but in no way was it un-flyable or un-safe and it worked perfectly. I fly in Texas at around 600ftASL, so I don't lose too much due to altitude, albeit density altitude in the summer can be high. It would easily hit 190mph per GPS.

It just depends on the style of flying that you want. I would think that a 90 in a 2m Rebel would be fine. Better suited to large, smooth, flowing aeros than steep climbs out from slow speed passes.

For full disclosure - after a season I replaced it with a Merlin 140 which transformed the UF, but if you want a relaxing flier, the SuperSport worked well.

Paul
Old 04-20-2021, 01:51 PM
  #350  
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northridge, CA
Posts: 768
Received 113 Likes on 91 Posts
Default

I noticed the new EA Havoc EZ has the same wing span and weight range as the Rebel but is rated for a 70-100N turbine.
The following users liked this post:
chevronflyer (04-20-2021)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.