Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

turbine mount question

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

turbine mount question

Old 12-08-2020, 05:43 PM
  #1  
jerrybern
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: , IL
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default turbine mount question

Hello, I am mounting a Jet Central Rhino in my 1/4 scale Sterner Vampire, problem is the mounts that are in the airframe are not wide enough and the mounting
brackets on the turbine are only about a inch long. Question is can I add to the turbine brackets? ,adding to the motor mount rails don't seem do able due to how they
mount on the bulkheads
Thanks
Jerry B
Old 12-08-2020, 05:58 PM
  #2  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jerrybern View Post
Hello, I am mounting a Jet Central Rhino in my 1/4 scale Sterner Vampire, problem is the mounts that are in the airframe are not wide enough and the mounting
brackets on the turbine are only about a inch long. Question is can I add to the turbine brackets? ,adding to the motor mount rails don't seem do able due to how they
mount on the bulkheads
Thanks
Jerry B
Yes - just be aware that the plates you add may raise the turbine a bit. You want to keep the turbine centered in the pipe as best as possible. When I have had to do this, I typically account for the turbine and pipe. That has worked for me, but there are many ways to do this.

Last edited by skunkwurk; 12-09-2020 at 04:45 AM.
Old 12-09-2020, 04:40 AM
  #3  
joeflyer
My Feedback: (47)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 2,873
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

I use aluminum sheet to make turbine mount extensions.

Old 12-09-2020, 05:37 AM
  #4  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,512
Received 65 Likes on 63 Posts
Default

I would used some wood extensions and under mount the motor to the plate then to the rail....making sure it’s Center.
Old 12-09-2020, 06:36 AM
  #5  
jetmon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mexico CityD.F., MEXICO
Posts: 249
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jerrybern View Post
Hello, I am mounting a Jet Central Rhino in my 1/4 scale Sterner Vampire, problem is the mounts that are in the airframe are not wide enough and the mounting
brackets on the turbine are only about a inch long. Question is can I add to the turbine brackets? ,adding to the motor mount rails don't seem do able due to how they
mount on the bulkheads
Thanks
Jerry B
Hello Jerry
This my help https://www.aeropanda.com/collection...ine-extensions
Regards
The following 3 users liked this post by jetmon:
Afterburners (12-10-2020), Auburn02 (12-09-2020), skunkwurk (12-10-2020)
Old 12-09-2020, 06:42 AM
  #6  
skunkwurk
My Feedback: (18)
 
skunkwurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 595
Received 40 Likes on 39 Posts
Default

These are nice!
Old 12-10-2020, 12:42 PM
  #7  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,289
Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jetmon View Post
Looks really slick Juan!
Old 12-12-2020, 04:42 PM
  #8  
jerrybern
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: , IL
Posts: 108
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks to every one who replied, I ordered the aeropanda extensions
Jerry

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.