Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

IGyro 3E installation and setup, How to do it??

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

IGyro 3E installation and setup, How to do it??

Old 07-31-2023, 02:24 AM
  #1  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default IGyro 3E installation and setup, How to do it??

Hello,

I would like to install a brand new IGyro 3E in my jet but, i am not sure how to proceed knowing that i do not have the Bluecom device or interface to do the proper setup on a Computer. All instructions i have read seem to miss a part of the setup. i was also unable to find a video guiding me through programming without the interfaces. Consequently,

A) Can i do the full programming without above 2 devices including setup of the gain?
B) What about the position of the Gyro in the plane? where can i install it knowing that space is very tight in this small jet. the only open space is under the cockpit.
C) Are there any restrictions if i install the Gyro directly on top of the RX with double adhesive tape?

Thanks in advance
Old 07-31-2023, 04:14 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,045
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Physically you can install it anywhere you have room as long as its square to the airframe. I'd install it directly to the airframe and not stuck to the receiver.
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 07-31-2023, 08:56 PM
  #3  
Dave Wilshere
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

You do not need a computer to get the 3e working/installed. It’s only for type changes and fine tuning.
Critical it’s on a level solid mount.
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 08-01-2023, 12:13 AM
  #4  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

thanks for the feedback. Any clear complete instructions for the setup?
Old 08-01-2023, 03:48 AM
  #5  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default Google is amazing!

Originally Posted by extra 300
thanks for the feedback. Any clear complete instructions for the setup?
Google searches are amazing! Iíve set the iGyro 3E without BlueCom or laptop. Starts on page 5. If you bought NIB, it should have come with hard copy instructions.

3620_iGyro-3xtra_en.pdf
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 08-01-2023, 04:16 AM
  #6  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RCFlyerDan
Google searches are amazing! Iíve set the iGyro 3E without BlueCom or laptop. Starts on page 5. If you bought NIB, it should have come with hard copy instructions.

Attachment 2273052
Thanks but these are the instructions for the IGyro Extra, are they the same for the IGyro 3E?
Old 08-01-2023, 04:34 AM
  #7  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Thanks but these are the instructions for the IGyro Extra, are they the same for the IGyro 3E?
https://www.powerbox-systems.com/upl...ro3e_en_01.pdf


Attached Files
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 08-01-2023, 09:14 AM
  #8  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

RCFlyerDan,

Thank you again for taking the time to reply. If i understand correctly i can indeed install the IGyro 3E without Blucom or PC interface but can only install the Gyro in default position and use the gain on the 3 axis simultaneously.
to benefit from the other features i would imperatively need either devices...

Old 08-04-2023, 12:06 AM
  #9  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Installation of the the IGyro 3E turned out to be much easier than expected. However, i encountered a puzzling issue: while elevator (single channel for both elevators used) and Rudder are working in correctly in both directions, ailerons (2 channels used) seem to react in only one direction. if i tilt plane to the left gyro reacts correctly to the left and both ailerons are moving in the right direction, while if i tilt plane to the right, ailerons do not seem to react in either ways....
gain was linked to a dial channel and maximum gain was set to be able to identify reaction of gyro.

Is this behaviour normal? i am afraid to try it in flight case there is some sort of defect in the gyro and risk my jet. any advise would be welcomed/appreciated.


Old 08-04-2023, 03:56 AM
  #10  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Good morning Extra 300,

Iím glad that you have been able to successfully install the 3E. The morning I responded, I didnít find PB directions. Here is their directions. Please check out #5.

3600_02_Kurzanleitung_iGyro3e_en_01.pdf

Pictures are great! On the close up picture, it doesnít look like the Aileron B and Elevator A are fully seated.

- Trouble shooting question: In the transmitter, on aircraft setup. Do you have 2-Ailerons, 1-Elevator and 1-Rudder? I take it that the elevator is on a Y? Primarily interested if you chose 2-ailerons. That you donít have 1-Aileron 1- Elevator, 1- Rudder

-The ailerons arenít plugged in crisscross? Receiver to 3E is aileron A to A and not A to B? Weíve all looked at things backwards. Lots of wires going everywhere.

- Iím sure that you have tried to program several times. But maybe it needs to be accomplished one more time.

- When booting up, you arenít moving jet prior to it finishing itís control check.

- There is an update to perform. But I think it has more to do with remembering endpoints.

- Also another suggestion, for my students who I am helping. If it is their first gyro, I donít program the ďAttitude HoldĒ, because it can get you into serious trouble. Instead of -100, I set it to 0. So for the 3 position switch, it is 0-0- +100. Prior to flying, reduce your gain knob to +50% or lower. It is too sensitive at 100%.

Just trying to help troubleshoot. Dan
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 08-04-2023, 08:53 AM
  #11  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Dan,

thanks again for your help.
- My setup is 2 ailerons, 1 elevator (coupled with Y connector) and 1 rudder. After taking the photo, i noticed that plugs were not fully inserted and have pushed them in place.
- can confirm that ailerons are not connected crisscross, i am using channel 1 and 7 on my MZ18, ch1 is plugged in Ail A and ch.7 in Ail B.
- Also confirm that i am waiting for initialization of Gyro before moving the jet.
- Unfortunately, cannot perform update without the adapter...
- Fully agree with your suggestion about heading hold and will act accordingly.

Still do not understand how gyro corrects the roll movement in one direction (both ailerons react) and not in the other direction.
Will try to reset end points using the push button while booting and see if any change.
Dany
Old 08-08-2023, 06:25 AM
  #12  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Problem solved apparently, at least on the ground. Although it is a brand new IGyro 3E i did a reset, pushed the button on the gyro while powering the RX, then tested all movements and i have consistent response on all axis. Will give it a try first chance i get. hope all will go smoothly.
Old 08-08-2023, 06:32 AM
  #13  
FlyJ
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 112
Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Problem solved apparently, at least on the ground. Although it is a brand new IGyro 3E i did a reset, pushed the button on the gyro while powering the RX, then tested all movements and i have consistent response on all axis. Will give it a try first chance i get. hope all will go smoothly.
Be sure to take off with the gyro OFF for the first flight!!! Only switch the gyro on once youíre at a good safe height. If something isnít working properly, youíll want a bit of altitude to turn the gyro off. This is good practice for anytime you make a change to the gyro.
The following 2 users liked this post by FlyJ:
extra 300 (08-08-2023), RCFlyerDan (08-08-2023)
Old 08-08-2023, 06:50 AM
  #14  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Problem solved apparently, at least on the ground. Although it is a brand new IGyro 3E i did a reset, pushed the button on the gyro while powering the RX, then tested all movements and i have consistent response on all axis. Will give it a try first chance i get. hope all will go smoothly.
Excellent! I was wondering how you were coming along. Keep it off, as recommended by FlyJ until at altitude.
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-08-2023)
Old 08-08-2023, 07:33 AM
  #15  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Will surely do as you say and make sure to test at a safe altitude... Thank you for your support and advice
The following users liked this post:
RCFlyerDan (08-08-2023)
Old 08-08-2023, 02:07 PM
  #16  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Will surely do as you say and make sure to test at a safe altitude... Thank you for your support and advice
Dany,

It sounds like this is your first gyro? As another suggestion, besides altitude. For the first time. Trim the jet with gear and flaps up with the gyro OFF. Donít turn the gyro ON above half throttle and level flight. At the preset gains, you shouldnít have any issues of too much gain. When there is too much gain, the jet wobbles through the air. If no wobble, gradually increase your throttle and speed to full throttle. As long as there isnít any wobbling, youíre good to go! If you get a wobble, turn gyro OFF, pull throttle back. Bring it down, and thereís a way to reduce the gain in the directions.
Best Wishes! Dan
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-09-2023)
Old 08-09-2023, 12:28 AM
  #17  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Dan,

In fact this is my first IGyro 3E not Gyro's in general. Thanks for the advice and thorough explanation which i will follow.
Regards,
Dany
Old 08-17-2023, 04:04 PM
  #18  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Dan,

In fact this is my first IGyro 3E not Gyro's in general. Thanks for the advice and thorough explanation which i will follow.
Regards,
Dany
Hello Dany,

I am just curious to see if you have flown your jet with the gyro? And hoping that you had great success and happy with the gyro.

Take care! Dan
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (08-17-2023)
Old 08-17-2023, 10:40 PM
  #19  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Dan,

Thanks for asking. Actually, i haven't got the chance yet. Hope to test it on Saturday Aug 26. i will surely let you know how things went through.

Cheers, Dany
Old 08-18-2023, 04:05 AM
  #20  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Dan,

Thanks for asking. Actually, i haven't got the chance yet. Hope to test it on Saturday Aug 26. i will surely let you know how things went through.

Cheers, Dany
Excellent! Best wishes! Dan
Old 10-02-2023, 01:01 AM
  #21  
extra 300
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BeirutBeirut, LEBANON
Posts: 1,321
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Dan,

I am pleased to report that last Saturday i was finally able to test the Avanti with the Igyro 3E i extremely windy conditions i should say.... took off Gyro disabled and in flight increased gain until i reached a point where the jet behaved very stable compared to windy conditions that day. i did not want to push the tests further for the first flight in those extreme conditions. I made it back safely and was very pleased with results for a first attempt...
Thank you very much for your help and support which are much appreciated.

Regards,
Dany
Old 10-02-2023, 04:53 AM
  #22  
RCFlyerDan
My Feedback: (54)
 
RCFlyerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SWFL
Posts: 2,008
Received 71 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by extra 300
Dan,

I am pleased to report that last Saturday i was finally able to test the Avanti with the Igyro 3E i extremely windy conditions i should say.... took off Gyro disabled and in flight increased gain until i reached a point where the jet behaved very stable compared to windy conditions that day. i did not want to push the tests further for the first flight in those extreme conditions. I made it back safely and was very pleased with results for a first attempt...
Thank you very much for your help and support which are much appreciated.

Regards,
Dany
Good Morning Dany!

It is always great to hear feedback on help provided. Iím sure glad that everything went well for you. Especially on a windy day! If you have the opportunity to use some of the other PB products, I think that you will be just as pleased.

Happy Flying! Take care of yourself! Dan
The following users liked this post:
extra 300 (10-02-2023)

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.