Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Feltclunk

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Feltclunk

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2004, 12:18 PM
adryan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Feltclunk

Hi,

I've just used 2 liters of heater fuel (Zibro-Kamine) with 5% Exxon turbine oil in my turbine.
Today when I tried to fill the main tank, the hopper almost blew-up, because the felt-clunk (Kavan) was blocked.
I've taken it out and it has become hard.

Can't you use a felt-clunk with turbines?...I'm still a rookie, so
any help would be appreciated

What type of clunks are you using in you're main tank? just a normal brass one?

Rgds,
Adryan
Old 06-13-2004, 01:10 PM
Charlie H.
My Feedback: (38)

Default RE: Feltclunk

HI
I have used the felt clunk from BVM for a couple of years , with no problems . I was using Jet-A for fuel .

Charlie
Old 06-13-2004, 01:15 PM
A343
My Feedback: (4)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Adryan
Felt-clunk has been popular for some time but it has one big negative effect on your fuel system. It releases fine felt threads that clogs up your filters, which has to be cleaned regularly. A much better clunk is the one Husqvarna uses for all their gas driven garden tools like weedwackers and chainsaws. It´s a little larger but is made of some kind of composite material.
My personal preference is plain brass clunks in all tanks and a BVM UAT as a header tank just prior fuelpump.

Regards
Thomas
Old 06-13-2004, 01:24 PM
Flyjets
My Feedback: (51)

Adryan

I had three of the felt clunks in my F15e after speaking with a Master Builder friend of mine he suggested I remove them. He stated that they get blocked up easier and need to be kept cleaned. He further stated because I use a BVM UAT they were pointless. He finished by saying they also break down over time.