Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

kangaroo

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

kangaroo

Old 04-26-2005, 09:57 AM
  #1  
hiran fonseca
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: pelotas - RS, BRAZIL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default kangaroo

[img][/img]

My new Kangaroo[img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57685.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	149.1 KB
ID:	263380   Click image for larger version

Name:	To44535.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	147.9 KB
ID:	263381   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ot48087.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	150.4 KB
ID:	263382  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:05 AM
  #2  
hiran fonseca
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: pelotas - RS, BRAZIL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

more pictures[img][/img]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16209.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	154.8 KB
ID:	263385   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je98668.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	155.1 KB
ID:	263386   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sx61065.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	148.2 KB
ID:	263387   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ic85155.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	263388  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:15 AM
  #3  
hiran fonseca
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: pelotas - RS, BRAZIL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

[img][/img]

My new hobby- paraglider
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19749.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	63.6 KB
ID:	263389  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:15 AM
  #4  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,123
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: kangaroo

Thats a T750 right? you like it?
Old 04-26-2005, 10:15 AM
  #5  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Legal Hiran, voce voou ele sempre com a turbina mais baixa do que a original, ou vc ja voou ele com a posicao original ?

Good to see you hanging around .... hahaha

at+,Enrique
Old 04-26-2005, 10:19 AM
  #6  
john agnew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: glasgowScotland, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,081
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Enrique

In was going to ask Hiran if the lowered thrust line made a difference to the way the 'roo flies.

Did you just do that?

John
Old 04-26-2005, 10:27 AM
  #7  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Yes, it makes a brutal difference. It flies pretty much like the hotspot wich has no discernible pitch
trim change at different throttle levels. But, there is a loss. you cant make the famous kangaroo
flop... and thats why I am rebuilding my roo!
Old 04-26-2005, 10:40 AM
  #8  
hiran fonseca
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: pelotas - RS, BRAZIL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

yes, the turbine is FTE 750 and is very good. I have two fte-750, one kankaroo and other in hot spot.
Old 04-26-2005, 11:26 AM
  #9  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

John, just recieved a PM from Hiran and he asked to me to tell in my slightly better (?) english
that he flew the first flights with the roo with the original mounting and he hated how the plane
pitched down at low speed at 100% power. So he lowered the thrust line and improved it very much.but it still needs some engine angle to make it perfect.

Enrique
Old 04-26-2005, 12:13 PM
  #10  
hiran fonseca
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: pelotas - RS, BRAZIL
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

[img][/img]

My old kangaroo
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ol31384.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	263437  
Old 04-26-2005, 05:22 PM
  #11  
roo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dublin 15, IRELAND
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Hi. Nice engine mount revision. Well done, good thinking. Paul.
Old 04-26-2005, 11:52 PM
  #12  
medjets
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orlando-FL
Posts: 117
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

attractive this modification!!! This is for getting more speeds?

Hiran, mas com certeza realçou pra melhor a aparência do Roo!! Parabéns!


Regards

Fabio
Old 04-29-2005, 08:08 AM
  #13  
G4guy
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 872
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Here is my Modified Roo. Flies Great and now CG is no Problem
Ron
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv65298.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	82.7 KB
ID:	264534   Click image for larger version

Name:	Je10179.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	264535  
Old 08-25-2005, 09:05 PM
  #14  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Help - I have a Fiberclassics Composite Roo that I bought 2 years ago at the Superman Jet Rally. I put a Jetcat P80 in it and it is almost ready to fly. I have taxiied it about, but I need to balance it. The original instructions call for the CG to be located 95-100mm forward of the wing tube. This places the CG 4" forward of the wing tube or close to the main retract struts. Is this the correct CG position?

The P80 is mounted on the pod with 3 washers under the rear of the P80. Is this correct?

The Elevons are split on each side of the wing, but each pair of servos on each wing are wyed together. What is the techinal reason for this design? Does anyone use the inner Aileron half as Flaps or is this setup just a redundancy?
Old 08-25-2005, 10:10 PM
  #15  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

1) Yes, this is the right c.g. position

2) Yes, this washers help to reduce the pitch down tendency at full power in lower speeds.

3) Yes, the primary control on the roo is elevon, the 2 servos working together.You can´t use them as flaps, because they will act as elevators... The flap function on this plane is done by the underbelly speed brake.


B.Regards, Enrique

Old 08-26-2005, 10:51 PM
  #16  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

I have balanced the Roo at 100mm forward of the wing tube, with the fuel tank empty. I am using a 2 liter pop bottle as a tank. The model is significantly more nose heavy with a full tank of fuel. Is this normal? How much different does the model behave from the beginning to the end of the flight?

Any recommendations on control throws?
Old 08-26-2005, 11:14 PM
  #17  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

There is no significant trim change from the beggining thru the end of the flight. the most significant unique flight characteristic of the roo is the pitch down tendency when you are flying at full throttle at less than cruise speed, like right at takeoff or when you abort a landing. be ready to hold a lot of up elevator in this situations without concern, because is next to impossible to overotate a roo.

about the settings, here are some useful threads...

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_32...tm.htm#3241518

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_29...tm.htm#2976200

BR, Enrique






Old 08-27-2005, 07:11 AM
  #18  
F86_SABRE
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Malta, MALTA
Posts: 1,584
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Hiran,

How is the engine afixed to the Roo?

Reuben
Old 08-27-2005, 07:34 AM
  #19  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

The engine is mounted to the pod, with the JetCat Kangaroo bracket, using 4 screws, with three washers under each of the back two screws.
Old 09-09-2005, 08:34 AM
  #20  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

I have both the JR9303 and Futaba 9CAP radios. I was advised to couple the Wheel Brakes, on my Kangaroo, with Down Elevator. I have used Pmix1, at 100% mix, between Elevator/Master and Ch7/Slave. While I have Ch7 set to accuate with the Left Slider Lever, I only get Full braking when I use the Slider lever. I only get 50% braking when I use Down Elevator. Both JR and Futaba say that is the best I can do.

Has anyone else found a way to get full braking with Down Elevator?
Old 09-09-2005, 12:27 PM
  #21  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

What kind of brake valve are you using?


Enrique
Old 09-09-2005, 01:01 PM
  #22  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

I have the Mini-Hobbies MHBrake electronic brake valve. It has two receiver leads. One connects to the Brake channel and one connects to the Retract channel so that when the Retracts are Up, the brakes won't come on while using Down Elevator in flight and use up air. I put in a separate air tank for the Brakes, so that is not an issue in my plane. I chose Ch7 as the Brake channel.
Old 09-09-2005, 01:29 PM
  #23  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Well, the second wire for the retract channel is sweet, but not needed at all. You need only to disable the PMIX braking function while the gear switch is in the up position, so you didn´t waste air while flying, a good thing to do even if you have a separate air tank. About the problem of the lack of throw for the brake, presuming that your ATV on channel 7 is at 140 , you can make 2 mixes for the same channel , duplicating the servo throw. best thing to do this IMO is using a standard servo, so you could see how your mixing is working out.

Best regards, Enrique



Old 09-10-2005, 07:19 PM
  #24  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

I increased the ATV on Pmix1 to 140. That in it self did not help me get more braking out of Down Elevator, but when I set up Pmix2, the same as Pmix1, and turned it on, Down Elevator now gives me 100% braking.

Can you explain why that works?
Old 09-10-2005, 10:36 PM
  #25  
erbroens
 
erbroens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Curitiba, Parana, BRAZIL
Posts: 4,254
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: kangaroo

Good to hear that you resolved the problem.
It works because the mixings are accumulative.. pmix1+pmix2 on the same slave channel=lots of throw!


Enrique



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.