Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

Need some help please.

Old 05-08-2016, 09:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need some help please.

Dom I'm somewhat new to the RC world. I had a nitro truck along time ago but it wasn't anything like what I have now. I was actually gifted a revo 3.3 with a hole bunch of extras. Long story but anyways I was running it the other night and out of no where out just stopped. So I tried restarting it and it wouldn't budge. Tore the engine apart and found that I busted the Con rod and put a hole in the piston. Did a bunch of research and found that the picco .26 red dot seems like my best engine. But what I need help with is what else do I need. I'm a mechanic so engines come second nature to me but I have been reading a lot of articles and some people are talking about needing parts I've never heard of. Any help would be greatly appreciated. And if you recommend a different motor I'm open for sugestions to. This is a hobby I would like to get into with my son. Tha k you.
Old 05-08-2016, 10:21 AM
My Feedback: (11)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The Picco .26 red dot I know of is a direct drop in replacement for a Traxxas engine. The Traxxas engine is a small block, the Picco is a mid block. It has a special mount but you don't need anything to install it but drivetrain upgrades are recommended. That engine has been discontinued for years though. Big block engines on the other hand are longer and require a special mount among other things. Putting a big block in a Revo is a complicated conversion with lots of variables and lots of drivetrain upgrades are required. Honestly if you want that much power you're better off with a 1/8 truggy that's designed for that kind of power to begin with.