Notices
RC Monster Trucks Discuss rc monster trucks in this forum

2WD or 4WD

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2003, 03:22 PM
tegwin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2WD or 4WD

I am just starting out with nitro trucks. I just want something to have some fun with, but it needs ground clearence to get over grass and mud etc... (oh and big jumps)

Is 2WD cheaper than 4WD??

Would i be stupid to buy a 2WD monster truck??

Thanks
Old 11-14-2003, 03:45 PM
dagass

Default RE: 2WD or 4WD

I wouldn't say that buying a 2WD monster truck is stupid. It will limit your ability to drive over certain things, but it really depends on your intended use. Yes it's cheaper and I'm sure a Sport-Maxx will jump every bit as well as a T-maxx but nothing beats a 4wd. They handle quite a bit better than a 2WD machine and again, they have the ability to go more places. If money is not a huge hurdle, then go 4wd, if it is, you can still have plenty of fun with a 2WD truck.
Old 11-14-2003, 03:45 PM
Addicted to Nitro

No it wouldn't be stupid at all to start out with a 2wd monster truck there still just as fun and can still get over alot of things but 4wd does make a big difference when u want to get over real big obsticles.
Old 11-14-2003, 03:58 PM
tegwin

HMMMM

I live next to some common land, It used to be a golf course so it has some huge ditches and banks. It also has grass from 2" tall up to 18", will a 2WD cope??

Are there any MTs that are 2WD and cheap that can be upgraded later to 4WD.

What is the best truck for my terain. I only have about £200 / $350, but even that is a stretch. However i do already have a radio set.
Old 11-14-2003, 04:18 PM
dagass

This might be worth looking at:

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXDED3**&P=7

The Sport Maxx can be upgraded to a full T-maxx at a later date if you chose. I can tell you this, anything you buy will have problems with grass that is 18" tall.
Old 11-14-2003, 05:17 PM
tegwin