Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Fuel comsumption for nitro engine

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2005, 12:24 AM
laoban

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel comsumption for nitro engine

I am new to RC nitro. Can anyone tell me how much fuel comsumption for a typical .12, .15 or .18 nitro engine?
For example, how long it will last for a RC10GT or Nitro Rustler, assume fuel level is full before racing or bashing.

Thanks.
Old 09-04-2005, 12:48 AM
IBrakeForNobody
My Feedback: (16)

Default RE: Fuel comsumption for nitro engine

Why would you like to know?

A RC10GT, and Nitro Ruslter have 75cc fuel tanks, or about 30 tanks a gallon. The runtime for me (I have a RC10GT) is about 3 min (WOT) or about 15 (bashing around). I use O'Donnel RTR 20% fuel, which is roughly $0.23 a tank full.

EDIT---

A electric takes approx. $0.0000001 to run per charge at 10 cents per kilowatt hour. Compare that to a nitro Got more info than you expected, huh? Sorry for babbling on and on
Old 09-04-2005, 02:21 AM
jkulhanek

I dunno if you've actually done any research Ibrakefornobody, but there is more like 50 tanks to a gallon.

Also 3 minutes?? Do you run it dribblingly rich?? Thats insane, I get approx 6-7 minutes racing, 12-15 minutes bashing.
Old 09-04-2005, 02:41 AM
laoban

Because I am thinking to get a nitro truck. Just wondering the cost of operate for a nitro truck, compare to electric RC.

So does the fuel comsumption based on the size of engine? Just like Ford Mustang comsume more gas than Honda Civic.
Old 09-04-2005, 09:05 AM
bentgear

IBFN you must be able to get fuel below cost. 1/10 scale nitro normal fuel tank is 75 CC or real close to it. At $19.00 for O"donnels 20% and the max of 50 tanks per gallon thats 38 cents per tank. Not bad all things considered. 1/8 scale buggys use 125 CC tanks.

Easy to figure, 3,785 cc's per gallon. Divide by tank size to get tanks per gallon and divide fuel cost by cost per tank.