Community
Search
Notices
RC Painting, Detailing & Bodies Discuss painting techniques, methods and materials. Also detailing and bodies

HPI AAR Xuda body painting

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2010, 10:41 AM
croccodillo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HPI AAR Xuda body painting

Hello all,

I'm new here.
I'm not new to R/C world, I already own a Tamiya Twin Detonator and a Clodbuster, both highly modified (I'm niot sure, actually, I can still call my car a Twin Detonator, just the shell is the stock one).
Now I won an used HPI Sprint 2 on ebay, it should arrive at my door in the next days.
This car will come complete with HPI Vintage wheels/tires (3815 and 3820 wheels, 4793 and 4797 tires), so I decided to buy a Vintage shell for it.
I choose the HPI AAR Cuda bodyshell, it should arrive next week.
Now, I have to decide on how to paint it.
I have no experience at all, my old bodyshell was made with Tamiya rattle can, plain color and without any mask/decoration, etc.
Now I would like to do something better.
First of all, is there any paint that replicate the chrome I can use for the bodyshell bumpers and other details (better would be tamiya)?
Next, how to make a black paint to look matte (The AAR Cuda has a mattte black hood and spoiler)?
Moreover, anybody knows which is the exact color HPI used for their orange and green examples on their website?
I really like the greem one.

Please post here any idea and work you have, or any link to whatever could help me.

Thank you in advance.

Ciao,
Giovanni
Old 01-07-2010, 11:10 AM
URit Racing

Default RE: HPI AAR Xuda body painting

Spaz stix makes the chrome paint www.spazstix.com , all the matal and front bumper are chrome (like a mirror)
[image][/img]
Old 01-08-2010, 06:53 AM
croccodillo

Amazing job you done there, Norman.