Community
Search
Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

prop balancing revisited

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 11:01 AM
skyhawk172n
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default prop balancing revisited

I'm sure this has been covered before, but my search turned up no real info, and who better to ask than a bunch of precision flyers! I would like some detailed info on balancing "small" props(10 to 16 inch). I've been flying for better than 20 years and have always balanced them to some degree, and want to get it done right. Mostly, I use APC's or wood.
Thanks for all answers,
Roy
Old 02-05-2005, 11:35 AM
ooooo

Default RE: prop balancing revisited

check this link
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_25...tm.htm#2584856

Here's what I do....
APC Props
1 Leave the edges sharp....I like my finger carrots sliced evenly
2 Put prop in balancer....heavy side will drop.
3 Spray bomb paint the lighter tip with red paint......makes it a bit more visible and gives a realistic effect when chopping your fingers
4 You may want to balance your spinner also...there is a thread here that tells you exactly how to do it.

Wooden Props
1 Will still do a number on your fingers...not as good as APC
2 Put prop on balancer....heavy side will drop
3 Spray bomb varnish on lighter side...let dry and rebalance until the prop is balanced.
4 You can also use a mixture of 5 min epoxy thinned down with rubbing alcohol and paint this onto the light side with a brush.
5 You can also use white paint on the lighter side until balanced.

One thing to remember though...some guys may differ here......
Apply paint, varnish or epoxy thinly to the front of the prop blade near the tip.... It changes the shape to the back of the blade slightly and since the blade is an airfoil basically, it will swirl the prop wash/disturbance over the wings and stab. Hmmmm...dunno if I got that out correct.