Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Upgrading to Futaba 18MZ...good idea?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2014, 05:53 AM
Ragz

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Upgrading to Futaba 18MZ...good idea?

I have been using the Futaba 14MZ for the last 5-6 years and am seriously considering a move to the 18MZ. I am wondering if Futaba is planning to upgrade the 18MZ in the next 12 months? It would be sad if there is an upgrade soon after I buy an 18, which I assume is in the middle of its life cycle. I fly large complex jets and adding telemetry would be nice now.

Thanks
Old 11-08-2014, 08:34 AM
Dave Harmon

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by Ragz
I have been using the Futaba 14MZ for the last 5-6 years and am seriously considering a move to the 18MZ. I am wondering if Futaba is planning to upgrade the 18MZ in the next 12 months? It would be sad if there is an upgrade soon after I buy an 18, which I assume is in the middle of its life cycle. I fly large complex jets and adding telemetry would be nice now.

Thanks
I Have had the 18mz now for a little over 2 years.
I had flown the 9zap for many years before that.
You will notice several important improvements in the 18mz vs the 14mz such as battery endurance.
The 18mz battery lasts for a very long time unlike the 14mz which usually has to have a spare battery or two just to make it through the day.
The screen brilliance is remarkable...also, the radio responds immediately when the screen is touched...unlike the 14mz which has a delay.
I could go on and on but you will love it....trust me!

Dave
NSRCA 586
AMA 5053
Old 11-09-2014, 05:03 AM
Ragz

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Thank you for the reply Dave, I agree that the 18 has a lot of advantages over the 14. However, I would not mind waiting for 6-10 months in case a new one is coming out. Else I will upgrade immediately.
Old 11-09-2014, 06:48 AM