Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Remote for a Slash 4x4 advice?

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2016, 09:47 AM
kat.hayes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remote for a Slash 4x4 advice?

I am completely new to the RC world, and just got a Slash 4x4 Platinum, and need a remote. I am not going to get into competitive racing, will only use it casually, mainly on pavement, but sometimes on dirt. I'd like an easy to use remote that will not take a ton of time learning how to use.

I looked at Traxxas remotes because they support the feature (don't remember names) that allow you to control the speed from a phone so I can let a kid use it and also I really like the feature that prevents it from flipping (that almost seems too good to be true).

1. Can a Futaba be setup to also support the two features I just mentioned previously?

2. Besides controlling lights, what other things can you do with a 4 channel remote vs a 2 channel one?

3. There seems to be lots of Traxxas remotes out there that seem similar, though some on some websites show that they only work with certain RC cars/boats? Is there an easy way to determine if a Traxxas remote is compatible with a Slash 4x4?

Thanks in advance!!!
Old 12-25-2016, 11:23 AM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

If Bluetooth connectivity to phone is a must have feature, then I would say you want one of the Traxxas TQi radios (2 or 4 channel) with TSM. Futaba radios do not have phone connectivity. I believe you are referring to the TSM feature in your post. TSM is just a fancy acronym that means the receiver has a gyro in it to sense direction. I don't know about it helping prevent flipping, but it will help fishtailing and oversteering.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	tsm.JPG
Views:	838
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	2194272  
Old 12-25-2016, 05:23 PM
kat.hayes