Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros
Reload this Page >

Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Old 03-07-2004, 10:19 PM
  #1  
Nik
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Painted Post, NY
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Ok,
I tried using a hitec module (Not the synthesizer) on channel 60, and when I plug it in the back the rf module light doesn't blink and when I plug it out it doesn't beep! Is that normal with the Hitec Module? I got the 1996 and not the super version, is there something wrong internally!?

Also I can't test it right now, (Don't have a receiver yet...)
-Nik
Old 03-08-2004, 07:26 AM
  #2  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

It is not recommended to use a Hitec module in a Futaba radio.
With that said, it has been noted while using the spectrum module that the RF light sometimes doesn't come on.
Old 03-08-2004, 07:38 AM
  #3  
Nik
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Painted Post, NY
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Does it work then, even though the light is not on?
Old 03-08-2004, 09:35 AM
  #4  
BaronSchwab
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 1,324
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Sounds like it does....sort of.
Old 03-08-2004, 12:42 PM
  #5  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

There are absolutely no guarantees if you try to use one brand of transmitter module in another transmitter, and it most certainly is not legal to do so, per FCC regulations.

Please be advised that such use will void any insurance you have in case of a mishap, whether it be the AMA's coverage or your own liability coverage.
Old 03-08-2004, 01:12 PM
  #6  
AirBearMA
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Attleboro, MA
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

Please do not use a setup like that. More often than not hacking transmitters such as Futabas with Hitec RF modules cause serious inteference problems on other channels. This type of hack on say channel 21, could cause interference on channels 19,20, 22, and 23. I know that I would not be happy if I lost a $2000 plane because someone in my club tried this stunt.
Old 03-08-2004, 03:14 PM
  #7  
Nik
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (12)
 
Nik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Painted Post, NY
Posts: 286
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 8u problems with Hitec Frequency module HELP!

thanks guys won't use it!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.