Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

JR Radio Question: PPM vs. PCM

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2004, 09:50 AM
UkerDuker
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JR Radio Question: PPM vs. PCM

I have been flying for about three years, and have never given much thought to PCM until now. I have a JR 378 radio and 7 channel PPM receiver. So here's my questions:

1) What do I have to purchase to convert my radio/receiver to PCM?

2) Do I just switch the setting in my radio from PPM to PCM?

3) Will this conversion prevent other fliers using the same channel (PPM) from interfering with my signal?

Any other info on PCM would be appreciated.

Mike
Old 07-20-2004, 10:33 AM
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)

Default RE: JR Radio Question: PPM vs. PCM

I don't know about your radio. I don't own JR, but I can answer your other questions.
If your radio has PCM capability all you will need is a PCM receiver to switch to PCM.
A PCM receiver will not protect you from interference if a PPM signal is on your frequency.
A PCM receiver will give you greater range and better interference protection and make it much harder to range check. You will have to walk further out and it will suddenly drop out with no warning. It makes it almost impossible to tell if you have a problem with a gas engine.
Old 07-20-2004, 07:39 PM
Panzlflyer
My Feedback: (15)

Okay I take the bait!!!
If you read the instructions and range check correctly with the engine off and then again with the engine on and you program your fail safe like you are supposed to you will be able to tell if your ignition is bad.
It is absolutely amazing how there are still people making a case to NOT have some signal filtering/checking.
All the planes that have crashed at our place recently have been Ppm.