Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Tunning Crystals???

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2005, 10:33 PM
rob.l
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tunning Crystals???

Sorry newbie here......
Ive hear people talking on the board about tunning up crystals. Does the frequency change over time? Is this a common thing? I just bought a used JR Transmitter XP652 and put in a set of GWS crystals that I had. They are the micro crystals, to fit into a GWS pico receiver. Its not working for some reason, so I was wondering whether it may be the crystals. If this is true that they can be serviced...Where would one take them?

One more thing, Are the GWS crystals different for Futaba and JR transmitters?
Also my Transmiter is a 6ch and the GWS pico reciever is a 4 ch. Will they work together??

Thanks
Rob
Old 04-05-2005, 10:53 PM
smokingcrater

Default RE: Tunning Crystals???

first of all, you need to generally use crystals from the same manufacturer. second, radios are tuned for not only a specific frequency, but a specific crystal. the only way you can retune it is to send it in to the factory for retuning.
Old 04-06-2005, 12:49 AM
JohnBuckner

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Smokingcrater is absolutely correct, never use crystals of a different brand than the Rx you are plugging it into. Not all crystals are cut the same even though of the same channel.

Also and this is what is your biggest issue Tx and Rx crystals cannot interchange, a Rx crystal will not work in a Tx or the other way around.

Another issue you cannot use single conversion crystals in a dual conversion Rx. Not sure which Rx you are using, you never said.