Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Contemplating switching from 9CAP to 12Z

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2007, 02:07 PM
jzinckgra
My Feedback: (11)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Contemplating switching from 9CAP to 12Z

I've been using my 9cap for about 3 years or so and it's a good radio. Currently my memory campac module is full with 14 planes and I just bought a funtana. So I need to get another campac module, which is only $24 from tower. I started reading some of the reviews on the 12z and the radio peaked my interest. I really don't need a 12 channel radio and barely use all 9 channels on some of my current planes. I guess I am looking for new radio and was curious if anyone bought the 12z for the better gimbals, feel, etc. I heard the programming on the 12z is much better than the 9c. I use the 8 channel futaba Rx's, mainly the 138 or 127 series, so I don't know if I would benefit using these rx's with the 12z, as far as enhancing the "feel" between pilot and plane. I have no desire to go the 2.4 ghz route at this time, so I would be looking at the 12z 72mhz TX. Tower has a nice promo going on which cuts $100 off the cost of the radio. I'm just on the fence as to whether a purchase such as this makes a lot of sense for me at this time. I could certainly use the extra model memory, but spending $1,000 on a radio versus getting a $24 campac module is a heck of a lot cheaper. I guess I am more interested in those that have upgraded to the 12z and what your thoughts on the radio are.
Old 12-27-2007, 02:40 PM
tkilwein

Default RE: Contemplating switching from 9CAP to 12Z

I went from the 9zhps to 14mz and would do it again.
The 14mz is feature RICH! I still have not dug down into all the menu's or functions.
The CF card some people have increased to larger size and say they get hundreds-thousand of models.