Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Discussion - Futaba 8UHFS channel swapping

Old 01-27-2008, 10:47 AM
  #1  
petn7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: City, PA
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Discussion - Futaba 8UHFS channel swapping

Is it possible to to use the Channel 7 switch on the transmitter to control a servo plugged into the channel 5 or channel 6 slot in receiver?

I looked in the manual and found nothing that talked about this issue.

P.S. I'm brainstorming a model submarine design and I want to control the bow planes with channel 5 or 6 (channels 1-4 will control throttle, stern planes, rudder, and ballast).

I need a switch/servo that has 3 positions: dive, neutral, and rise. The switch for channel 7 on the 8UHFS seems to be a perfect fit for this.

If channel swapping is not possible, does anyone know of any micro receivers that are on surface frequencies and have 7 or more channels? For example, there's a Berg receiver that's small enough for my application (and has 7 channels), but it's on an aircraft frequency.
Old 01-27-2008, 05:37 PM
  #2  
wonderboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 23
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Discussion - Futaba 8UHFS channel swapping

Yes.

Step 1: Pick which channel you want to use. Lets say Channel 5.

Step 2: Turn off the normal Channel 5 function by using PMIX-1.
- Go to the advanced menu
- Select PMIX-1
- Hit the "+" button while "INH" is blinking to enable (don't worry if it says "ON" or "OFF" at this point.
- Select "GYR" as the master and slave channel (this is the label for Channel 5 on heli modes)
- Set the Percentages to -100% (you'll have to toggle the switch for Channel 5 to get to both)
- Set the Switch direction to "Null" (doesn't matter which switch is selected)

Step 3: Mix Channel 7 into Channel 5 using PMIX 2
- Go to the advanced menu
- Select PMIX-2
- Select "CH7" as the master and "GYR" as the slave channel
- Set the Percentages to +100% (you'll have to toggle the switch for Channel 7 to get to both)
- Set the Switch direction to "Null" (doesn't matter which switch is selected)

That should do it. There may be other ways too, using offsets or something, but to me this seems the most straightforward.
Old 01-27-2008, 05:54 PM
  #3  
petn7
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: City, PA
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Discussion - Futaba 8UHFS channel swapping

Wow, thanks for the reply.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.