Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

SCX24 Help

Old 08-04-2023, 09:11 AM
  #1  
Hntr11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SCX24 Help

Wanted to pose a few questions and see what advice you all come up with. I recently got into the rc crawler game so I am still learning things. I have an scx24 that Iíve done a fair amount of mods to and I think I may be running into an issue. Here is a list of mods to help you all with your answers:

- brass mods (dif covers, steering links, center skid plate)

- Steel drive shafts

- high clearance 4 link

- 40mm double barrel shocks

- cvd axle shafts

- NHX 1.0Ē brass wheels 32g per.

- RCAWD Mickey Thompson Baja pro tires

- flubber stuffers tire inserts

- 1/12 under drive front and back

- 66T hot racing motor

- emax steering servo

- stock frame, axle housings, esc/receiver



So the issue I am experiencing is after a run the esc/ receiver seems like itís getting to hot. Not sure if this is due to the motor upgrade (hobby tech assured me it would be compatible) or if itís due to the added weight from the mods. Any insight would be great!




Last edited by Hntr11; 08-04-2023 at 09:54 AM.
Old 08-13-2023, 01:25 PM
  #2  
gixer1k
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma City OK,
Posts: 77
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I would be about 90% sure that it's the extra weight of your brass. You have over 4 ozs in just wheel brass. Put the old wheels on and run a battery through it and see if that helps.
Old 08-14-2023, 12:31 PM
  #3  
Hntr11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gixer1k
I would be about 90% sure that it's the extra weight of your brass. You have over 4 ozs in just wheel brass. Put the old wheels on and run a battery through it and see if that helps.


Thatís kinda the way I was leaning also. Whatís your take on putting an upgraded esc in, say a furitek lizard or something similar?
Old 08-14-2023, 02:48 PM
  #4  
gixer1k
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma City OK,
Posts: 77
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Hntr11
Thatís kinda the way I was leaning also. Whatís your take on putting an upgraded esc in, say a furitek lizard or something similar?
I've got a Furitek with Komodo motor in one of mine and it's a beast. I don't have as much brass as you, but I bet it would be fine.
Old 08-14-2023, 04:46 PM
  #5  
Hntr11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by gixer1k
I've got a Furitek with Komodo motor in one of mine and it's a beast. I don't have as much brass as you, but I bet it would be fine.

Iíve been looking at the cedar/esc combo they have, just hard to pull the trigger with the price tag. Also not sure if itís worth doing with the stock rx
Old 08-15-2023, 02:07 AM
  #6  
gixer1k
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Oklahoma City OK,
Posts: 77
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

With the Furitek, I had enough room to put a Spektrum receiver in it so I can use my DX5 Pro radio.
Old 08-15-2023, 07:40 AM
  #7  
Hntr11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=gixer1k;12780442]With the Furitek, I had enough room to put a Spektrum receiver in it so I can use my DX5 Pro radio.[/


I havenít looked into a new tx/rx yet. Itís not likely that I will get into another surface vehicle; mainly a plane guy, so Iím hesitant to spend the extra money.
Old 08-16-2023, 02:32 PM
  #8  
Hntr11
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2023
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

[QUOTE=Hntr11;12780467]
Originally Posted by gixer1k
With the Furitek, I had enough room to put a Spektrum receiver in it so I can use my DX5 Pro radio.[/


I havenít looked into a new tx/rx yet. Itís not likely that I will get into another surface vehicle; mainly a plane guy, so Iím hesitant to spend the extra money.

talked with furitek, apparently all of their escís are compatible with the v1 receiver 👍

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.