Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Rock Crawlers
Reload this Page >

Total rock crawler noob/dumb questions

Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

Total rock crawler noob/dumb questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2006, 02:58 AM
blowpopracer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total rock crawler noob/dumb questions

Ok found a nylint 1/18 at wally world on clearance for $21. I bought one just for kicks and darn it is fun trying to climb rocks and logs n such. Ive had so much fun ive considered starting a crawler build. I do have rc experience but no crawler experience. I used to be a mechanic so I can braize,weld,and fab to a degree but keep in mind i dont have a machine shop. So with that where should I start?

-what is the pros and cons of txt and superclods compared to each other?

-opinions on hpi's wheelie king?

-opinions on tamiya high lift. I kinda like the looks of that one alot but not sure of potential?

-or just building a complete scratch built chassis?

ive looked at rccrawler and they have alot of great info but for right now just looking for a recommended starting point then will post my more technical questions as they come up.

Im dont think they have any competitions around here so this is just for personal enjoyment(build included), so i dont necessarily need the best but I already have the wally world special and want something alot more capable than that.

Thanks and sorry for what seems to be stupid questions.

Old 11-10-2006, 03:12 AM
SlideWaysTeamGC
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Total rock crawler noob/dumb questions

ide start small and work into a clod or txt

start out with a tlt you can use the stok chassis cut it up and bolt in a pede tranny and make your own links and get some mobas or geos or someother good crawling tire

also visit this site for more info

www.rccrawler.com
Old 11-14-2006, 11:14 PM
Rc EnthuSiasTs