Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Rock Crawlers
Reload this Page >

Help a Noob on a crawler build (please)

Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

Help a Noob on a crawler build (please)

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2007, 08:33 PM
rcdudegermy10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help a Noob on a crawler build (please)

Hey I'm pretty new to the crawling scene, not rc in general, just crawling.....And I wanted to make my first crawler, I have a lot of extra parts, don't know if they will be good or not, but I do have a lot.....So could you crawler veterans, or noobs, or both, could you please help me build my crawler???

Here's a list of what I have: T-Maxx upper and lower arms, chassis braces (2 pair, so 4 in total, 2 plastic, and two aluminum), a spare chassis (T-Maxx), bulkheads (T-maxx, plastic), lots of hinge pins (various sizes) and an electric evader st (complete kit) ...also a duratrax streak esc (up to 10 cells, and like a 12 motor limit), 2 Epic 3000mah 6 cell packs, and one 1500 pack, a 20 and a 17 turn motor, lots of wheels and tires (use an axle pin, from a like a 2 wheel stadium truck or buggy), fuel tubing, tons of screws, dogbones (for driveshafts)...

Also are the suspension links (for a crawler) made out of turnbuckles? If so could I use my T-Maxx ones?

I also have 8 shocks, off my T-maxx and evader...I was thinking of trying to use inboard shocks (horizontally mounted, or at like an angle...if it's possible, not a big deal at all though) like the Revo, or full scale indy cars...

I would also buy the 4 wheel steering kit, and probably just use a couple of 80 oz/in t-maxx servos (is that enough torque)... I would want to have 4 wheel steering if possible...

Is there a lot more that I will need...axles...Which ones would have the best value (cost to performance)...TLT or ??.....?