Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

noob to crawling

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2008, 08:59 PM
trainlover

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default noob to crawling

Hello im new to crawling but nott to rc. i have two rcs. A nitro monster truck and a stadium truck. I am wanting to get into the crawler seen and want to know what are good begginer trucks my hobby shop has the wheelie king for 200 and i dont ming doing a couple of mods to the truck thanks zachary flowe.
Old 03-18-2008, 09:04 PM
Pico Train

Default RE: noob to crawling

id go with the ax10 if you can afford it.
Old 03-19-2008, 12:19 AM
trainlover

how much is the ax 10 and where can i buy it
Old 03-19-2008, 12:29 AM
Pico Train

the cheapest place ive found was ckrccrawlers.com, 210 bucks for the kit.
Old 03-19-2008, 08:36 AM
nitrosportsandrunner

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

yes, the ax 10 is a good crawler. but it can be out of the price range for many just getting into crawling. i got a used wheely king(paid $135) that had been stretched 2.5 inches and lowered the servo mount. i have made a rear servo mount, and will mod a traxxas 3ch contorler soon so i will have 4 wheel steering. it is very easy to ad on a wheely king, as the front and rear axles are the same. only a simple rod holds the rear tires straight. remove that, and the can turn. ad a servo and now its 4ws.
the wheely kings limitations to crawling are a high center of gravity(you can make costom batteries that sit over the axles, which will help alot) and a lack of ground clearance in the middle of the chassis. it was designed to look like a monster truck, to climb over rocks. i think it make a good trail truck with the basic mods(stretch the length, lower servo mounts, lock diffs, mod tires) which means it can go over alot, and climb well for those just getting into crawling.