Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

AXIAL ESC

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2009, 01:40 PM
adrians3109

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AXIAL ESC

Hi guys

i'm a newbie to esc and axials. Today just finished setting up my scx and i'm not sure if all is fine. To start with i used an old controller and receiver from another car and i'm thinking they arent working ok... car responds but sometimes steering servo keeps doing sounds even when not in use. Also the ESC has an LED which lights green but when i drive goes red. Is this normal?

thanks guys
Old 07-28-2009, 02:01 PM
Zim-uh-tosa

Default RE: AXIAL ESC

Although I do not have the axial ESC, this all sounds normal. I have the Sidewinder ESC and it behaves in the same manner except I think the lights are yellow at center, red in reverse and green in forward. My servos usually have a little buzz even when sitting in the center and not in use( I use the Hitec 645MG). If you goose the turning controls real fast the servo will usually stop buzzing. As long as you set the steering so it is just short of bottoming out, the servo will be under normal strains. If you are getting excessive buzzing at full left/right, then shorten the throw a bit until you don't hear it any more.

I did a comp this last weekend and was amazed at how loud everyone's servos were when just sitting idle...Now go play!

Z
Old 07-28-2009, 04:06 PM
adrians3109

Hi thanks for the reply

...but i got an update [] ...servo now stopped working. Can still hear the buzzing motor but its not responding. I'm sure it cant go bust without any use...this is still brand new. Could it all be coming from a faulty radio? i flipped channels but still with same result and servo still wont work (except for the buzzing noise). Forward / backwards always works fine on any channel so that kind of excludes a bit the radio.
Old 07-28-2009, 05:36 PM
Zim-uh-tosa