Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Northwind 28 - Rigging question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Northwind 28 - Rigging question

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2021, 10:46 PM
bigdaddyort

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Northwind 28 - Rigging question

Hi All,

Im new to setting up the rigging for an RC sailboat. I was wondering if anyone has a northwind 28 that they could show me how they have rigged the sails? I have a small catamaran that I see has some elastic tied to the rigging and did not understand the purpose of it until I rigged up the arm winch and now see that when the arm is rotated the rigging comes loose and sloppy in the control area.

Bottom line is I want to make sure I have run the rigging correctly as it doens look like the previous owner had any elastic rigging and Im not sure how or where to tie the main and jib sail rigging together.

Thanks in advance for any assistance!
Old 02-14-2021, 03:12 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

The requirements for any Bermuda rig model yacht are the same.
The string coming off the arm needs to pass through the deck, usually toward the stern, go as far sternward as possible, turn and split into a line for the main and another for the fore. This is usually where the elastic line connects. Each of the sail lines then passes through either a deck fitting or adjustable bridle ring, then to a point on its sail boom.
A sail arm usually involves having the line pass through its end and back to a fixed point near the entry point through the deck to give more travel. There needs to be enough straight run between the stern turning point and the main sail deck ring to accommodate the travel needed and not have the join foul ether the stern turning tackle (some use pulleys, some have figured out that anything with a radius will do the job) or the bridle ring.