Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

just curious

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

just curious

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2006, 02:35 PM
cotman
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default just curious

Been a sailor (real boats) for years. Just wondering why have a boom for the jib. Has anyone tried just attaching the jib right to a forestay rather them having a boom.
Old 02-28-2006, 08:35 PM
atwinda

Default RE: just curious

I couldn't tell you why people haven't; But I can tell you that my new boat will not use a jib boom and have the forstay run through a pocket in the luff of the jib.

I think most people buy their sails or use the ones in the kits.. I have the ability to make them (I am a sail maker by trade) so customizing them is a different sorry for me.
Old 02-28-2006, 09:43 PM
IanHB

Because the jib sheet attachment points on a model yacht are not out on the rail and as the sheeting winch arrangment for an overlapping jib is very difficult to engineer.
It is so much easier to use a self tacking jib and keep the correct foot curve on a jib boom.
Downwind it is easy to gull wing.
There are a few classes that use overlapping geneoas but they tend to only look good and work well when hard on.
Off the wind they look crap..[:-]
If you are keen to try then go ahead. I can link you to information that would assist if desired. We would all love to see your results as nothing looks so good as a well set 100%---120% headsail model or fullsize.[sm=bananahead.gif]
Old 04-13-2006, 12:56 PM
panamsail

Dear Cotman,