Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Sailboats
Reload this Page >

Thunder Tiger Odyssey

Community
Search
Notices
RC Sailboats For all your r/c sailing needs, post here.

Thunder Tiger Odyssey

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2009, 03:43 AM
periscope

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thunder Tiger Odyssey

Hi All - Just wondering if anyone has built, or can give me any info on the performance 0f the Odessey. I should mention at this stage that I have no experience with sail boats. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Ian
Old 10-18-2009, 04:58 PM
larrykin

Default RE: Thunder Tiger Odyssey

Hi Ian,

Hi All - wonder if anyone has built the Odyssey by Thunder Tiger - I'm looking for a starter yacht (no experience sialing) and I like the look of this model more so than the Victorias which some of our club members have. Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Ian
I'd strongly recommend you go with the Victoria. You get a proven boat and support from other members when you need to do all the mods to get the boat sailing. The Oddessey looks like a child's toy boat. Lots of deck clutter which is OK for display but not for sailing. From my experience with Thunder Tiger boats the hulls are OK. The sails, mast, booms, rigging all need replacing. The deck furniture needs to be junked. You also still have to buy and fit the sail/rudder servos and get a radio. That's another £100 you need to consider.

Visit the Victoria website and see the support. You'll get all the info you need re rerigging. From memory should cost you about £250 to get a boat in the water.

Larry L.

Larry L.
Old 10-19-2009, 05:00 AM
periscope