Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Reload this Page >

Colored Position Light Lenses

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Colored Position Light Lenses

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2010, 04:45 PM
frets24
My Feedback: (15)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Colored Position Light Lenses

Where can you get transparent red tinted .040 plastic for vacu-forming wingtip/position light lenses? Is anyone doing colored lenses? If so, how are you getting the right red and have you been able to achieve that funky blue-green that was used on the right tip in so many WWII warbirds? I've thought about using transparent paint but am wondering about how difficult it is to get a uniform tint and whether to tint before or after vacu-forming. I have no experience with the tints-just opaques. If the tints work ok, I think I've got the green covered...Mountian Dew bottles! (backed by blue transparent paint) I've already used Dew bottles for plain green lenses, but now I'm wanting a bit more accuracy.

While we're at it maybe someone can expain the reason for using a blue-ish lense and a yellow light bulb to acieve green instead of just using a green lense? This is still done today on certain stoplights, Xmas tree lights and some boat/ship lights. Something to do with being able to get the right intensity/brightness and hue of green at the same time maybe?

Hope this is the right place to post this question...If not, then Moderators please feel free to move it.

Thanks Ya'll
Old 12-01-2010, 05:26 PM
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)

Received 51 Likes on 49 Posts
Default RE: Colored Position Light Lenses

I've used Ritdye successfully, never tried green though,, interesting question
Old 12-01-2010, 08:16 PM
Laird SS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts