Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Scale Aircraft
Getting into Scale R/C >

Getting into Scale R/C

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Aircraft Discuss rc scale aircraft here (for giant scale see category above)

Getting into Scale R/C

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2003, 11:16 AM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting into Scale R/C

Actually, I'm getting back into R/C in general after 25 years! (Anyone interested in a four channel MRC radio and a 27 year old OSMax40?)

I will be "relearning" with a SFM Eindecker ARF. It should be a good intermediate trainer and also give me the tail dragger experience I need.

My real passion is WWI and earlier aircraft. I am a reasonable modeler both in plastic and stick building. My dream project is an R/C version of an AVRO Triplane IV. (A replica is in the Shuttleworth collection, www.shuttleworth.org)

I will probable build a WWI era kit before I tackle that scratch build project but I do have a couple of questions as I start to contemplate the project.

1. Is there a good Internet source for vintage R/C scale for products like hardware and building tip?

2. Are their any good books on the initial designing and planning for a scratch build project? (Matching plane size to engine etc.)

3. What are some good sources for vintage hardware such as bracing materials, wheels, brackets, etc? (I am familiar with Williams Bros.)

4. What are my engine options? This can't be a megabuck project but I'd like to either encapsulate a modern R/C engine to make it pseudo vintage or are there modern R/C motors that vaguely look appropriate. (The AVRO had an in-line motor, not a radial/rotary.)

Thanks in advance and I look forward to the exchanges in this forum!

Salute!
(As we say in our WWI online virtual squadrons but that is stuff for another post.)
Old 06-19-2003, 11:38 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Re: Getting into Scale R/C