Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

scratch build

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

scratch build

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2004, 04:54 AM
ernest2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default scratch build

hi!! i'm planning to scratch build a grand banks 42 or 46 classic. i'm basically new to the hobby, but i do have a lot of magazines and read alot about model boating.. and i do research.[8D] can anyone suggest what motor and prop size i used? i want it to have a good speed, but not too much.. and can anyone suggest hardwares? i'm planning to build my own... i'm a little tight on a budget.. i'm initally planning to buy dumas hardwares... but i'm from the philippines and shipping is a bit pricey.. i will be building the boat in 1:12 scale so my model would be 42" or 46".. and i guess i will power it with a lead acid if its electric or a .40 size airplane nitro engine.

thanks for any advice

ernest
Old 02-26-2004, 10:47 AM
LtDoc

Default RE: scratch build

ernest2,
There's nothing wrong with the 'Dumas' motors and drive trains, but they are kind of expensive. A little 'judiscious' shopping should reduce the component costs some. The shipping is another matter, not much you can do about that.
If it's a choice between electric motors and fuel engines, the deciding factor (for me) is that using a fuel engine usually means that there's no reverse. That's not a 'big deal' with "go fast" boats, but if you plan to do any manuvering, a 'reverse' sure is handy! You could always add a clutch and transmission, but that'$ not alway$ the ea$ie$t thing to do.
In your research, look for boats with the same general hull shape (planing or displacement), that's really the deciding factor on how big of a motor(s) you'll need (among other things like weight).