Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

HELP! 1 motor quits of dual motor/dual esc/dual batteries

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

HELP! 1 motor quits of dual motor/dual esc/dual batteries

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2006, 07:40 PM
newPTboater

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HELP! 1 motor quits of dual motor/dual esc/dual batteries

I'm new to electrics and and having a problem. I am building a Dumas 1/20 scale PT boat. I have powered it with the dual motor kit from Mack Marine. The motors will run for about 1 minute and then one will quit (and sometimes reverse direction). My set up is as follows: 2 12v 5 amp motors, each motor is hooked to a Proboat ESC, each ESC has a 10 cell, 12V NiMH pack attached to it. The ESC are connected with a Y harness which is hooked into the reciever. I am using the BEC function of the ESC. I have tried running with one ESC switched "on" and both ESCs switched On".. I always get the same result..the motors will run for about a minute and then one will quit and sometimes even reverse. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated..I'm stumped.

Old 07-29-2006, 08:00 PM
Tug Guy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: HELP! 1 motor quits of dual motor/dual esc/dual batteries

The first question I always ask on an electrical problem is did you charge all batteries and transmitter/receiver before running the motors?
Do these escs require a setup procedure before running for the first time?

Tug
Old 07-29-2006, 08:20 PM
newPTboater

Yes, the batteries were fully charged. The only set-up for the ESCs is to move them to full forward and full reverse when you turn the system on.
Old 07-29-2006, 08:23 PM
LtDoc

newPTboater,
Did you disconnect the BEC in the second ESC? Using one BEC is fine, using both leads to problems.
- 'Doc
Old 07-29-2006, 09:57 PM
subsinker
My Feedback: (61)

Hi,