Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Scale Boating
Reload this Page >

Disabling BEC in an ESC

Community
Search
Notices
RC Scale Boating Enjoy rc scale boating? Talk about it here.

Disabling BEC in an ESC

Search this Thread

Old 10-21-2007, 03:08 AM
Reilly4

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disabling BEC in an ESC

Hi Guys,
I am from Melbourne Australia, and new to this site but have been building model boats since childhood. These are mainly electric but have also helped a friend over the years with re-building/supporting his glow engined boats.

I am new to the electric speed controllers, having used the variable resistor boards for my ships and 6/12 volt switchers for the faster patrol boats. I will put photos of the boats in my profile shortly.

I have bought a speed controller branded a Himark HI015. It is good for 50 amps forward or 20 reverse. Its working voltage is 5-10 cells (6-12 volts). It looks remarkably like the Proboat item photographed in the PT boat on this site that has 3 of them.

I am building a Fairmile D 1/24 scale. I intend to use 2 Graupner 700BB motors in parallel with the single speed controller.

My question is this.
Can I disable the BEC part of this controller and use it with separate power for the engines and separate power for the RC. Although I have Futaba RC sets that are PCM FM, they do not have the newer BEC capability.

I have copied the basic instruction sheet and a photo of the ESC.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Om32562.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	58.9 KB
ID:	787055   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mh19775.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	787056   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd82428.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	90.8 KB
ID:	787057   Click image for larger version

Name:	Au56925.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	141.0 KB
ID:	787058  
Old 10-21-2007, 01:09 PM
patmat

Received 24 Likes on 19 Posts
Default RE: Disabling BEC in an ESC